about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jul. 4
... Wave your hands
Bah. Have you ever tried to copy an entry, and your finger slipped, and you just got a "c" instead of a nice entry on the clipboard? Yeah. Grrr.

Anyways. I'm back home for the weekend. Laurel and I made really good time cleaning up and getting packed up at the church this afternoon. I'm really looking forward to having the evening and tomorrow to just relax. Either tomorrow or next Saturday, I want to get down to the Stampede Grounds, but I'll have to see when anyone's available to go with me. I'm disappointed that I wasn't able to make the parade this year, but one of these years I'll get back.

I can't believe that this week is already over. One down, seven to go. It went by really fast, though. I wonder if they'll go so fast by the end of August...

A year ago today we were leaving NYC for London. The "big" element of my summer was 2/3 over, and this year, it's just starting. I keep making all sorts of comparisons--and there are all kinds of similiarities--but it's an interesting mix of last summer and all the summers that I've stayed in Calgary and worked at the church.

Anyways. I started this entry about 4 hours ago, left to pick something up from my dad, and ended up going to The In-Laws with him. So. I'm really hungry now. I've been eating three regular meals a day for the past week, and now my body expects something like that. Heh.

So, I'm going to do the Friday Five and then go do something else. Like get some supper.

1. What were your favorite childhood stories? The Little House on the Prairie series, the Mandie series, Dr. Seuss books, The Chronicles of Narnia, the Baby-Sitters Club books, Sweet Valley Twins, Nancy Drew... all kinds of stuff like that.

2. What books from your childhood would you like to share with [your] children? So many. Mostly the classics I've (re)discovered since childhood, but I can't say that I would be concerned/heartbroken if my little girl liked the Baby-Sitters Club books. I definitely want my kids to read Narnia and anything by Madeleine L'Engle.

3. Have you re-read any of those childhood stories and been surprised by anything? Absolutely. I know I always talk about them, but C.S. Lewis and Madeleine L'Engle never cease to amaze me with the theology and philosophies in their books.

4. How old were you when you first learned to read? About three. My mom thought that I was just reciting books I'd memorized from hearing so many times, but she got some library books that I'd never read, and I read one of them out loud in the backseat of the car on the way home.

5. Do you remember the first 'grown-up' book you read? How old were you? I read the Little House books when I was about 5, and I started reading Nancy Drew when I was 6. I had to get special permission to go in the "upper elementary" section of the school library. I don't know if those count as "grown-up" books, but those are the most momentous. I don't remember the first book that wasn't a "juvenile fiction" or whatever book. Still in elementary school, definitely.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:29 p.m.