about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Sept. 14
... And all that jazz
It's time for another "101 Things" entry. Or however many I can come up with.

1. I was born on Good Friday, in 1982.

2. My birthday falls on Good Friday once every 11 years.

3. I've had 13 roommates since I moved out of my parents' house.

4. I've lived in 5 different houses since moving out.

5. I've lived in 10 houses total.

6. I've never moved so far away that I left all my friends--all my moves have been within an hour away.

7. I have a cat named Linus.

8. He was named Lucy at first, but then we discovered that Lucy wasn't quite a Lucy.

9. Everyone thinks I named him after my friend Trevor, who played Linus when we did The Grinch that Stole Charlie Brown's Christmas two years ago.

10. I didn't. Linus just happened to be a good counterpart to Lucy.

11. But some people think that I named him Lucy after Janel, who played Lucy in the play.

12. Again, I didn't. I just liked the name, and it seemed to fit.

13. I eat at Wendy's at least once a week.

14. It's right across the street from my school.

15. My first pet was a cat named Lady Slipper.

16. We got her because we were renting an older house, and there were mice.

17. I've seen the movie Dirty Dancing at least 20 times, if not more.

18. I've only ever dated two boys.

19. They were both quite serious, though.

20. I prefer Coke to Pepsi by far.

21. I was born into that preference--both my dad and my uncle are avid Coke supporters, and it was almost heresy to drink Pepsi in my house.

22. I've travelled in 5 countries so far.

23. I can think of at least 15 more off the top of my head that I want to visit.

24. I'd love to spend a year living in New York City.

25. My kindergarten class had 10 kids in it--6 girls and 4 boys.

26. I bake my own bread, but I buy bagels.

27. My favorite bread recipe is a parmesan herb bread.

28. There are 68 framed pictures in my bedroom right now.

29. Only 20 of them are in individual frames.

30. The rest are in 7 different collage frames.

31. I still keep in touch with my high school French teacher.

32. My personal script library includes over 100 scripts for skits, monoluges, one-act plays, and multi-act plays.

33. I have a tendency to fall down a lot. For no particular reason, usually.

34. I have 21 cousins, ranging in age from 6 months to 23 years.

35. I'm the oldest on my dad's side, and the second oldest on my mom's side.

36. My mom grew up in Chicago, so I have a dual Canadian-American citizenship.

37. In all the different tours and situations where I've been billeted, I've slept in at least 50 different people�s beds.

38. I learned my first words in French (counting to 12) by watching Sesame Street.

39. I've attended the same church since I was born.

40. I've been on staff there since August, 1999.

41. I have a drawer full of at least 50 greeting cards that I'm hanging onto for that "perfect occasion."

42. Some may never get sent.

43. But most will.

44. I was Student Council President when I was in grade 12.

45. At my school, it wasn't an elected position--you got it by applying for it and then being appointed by a panel of students, including the outgoing student council, as well as the Student Council advisor.

46. I was still pretty dang pleased to have that position, though.

47. It had been a goal of mine ever since I was in about grade 6.

48. When I was really little, my parents could never �hide� medicine in anything�ice cream, peanut butter, jam, chocolate sauce. I could always taste it, no matter how little there was.

49. I don�t like ice cream cones. When I get one, I�ll lick out all the ice cream, and then throw the cone away.

50. I like sugar cones and waffle cones, but there�s just something about the taste and texture of normal cones that�s disgusting to me.

51. My favorite thing on a sandwich or toast or anything like that is melted cheese.

52. The first chapter book I ever read was �Little House in the Big Woods.�

53. I was 5 years old.

54. I thought that the chapters were like independent stories, and that�s how I read the first few chapters, until my mom told me otherwise.

55. Reading it that way almost worked with that book, though, because each chapter was a different event.

56. The first chapter I read was Chapter 12�the Christmas chapter.

57. I own a full set of professional stage makeup.

58. My favorite contestant on American Idol 2 was Clay Aiken. He should have won.

59. I voted for Billy on Canadian Idol, but that was mostly because he�s from Calgary, and I have a great sense of pride in my city. Although he was very good, and I was sad when he was voted off.

60. I honestly think that I live in the best city in Canada.

61. I�ve played the piano since I was 7, and I have my grade 10 piano.

62. One of the first Broadway musicals I ever saw (on TV) was The Music Man.

63. The only Broadway musical I�ve actually seen on Broadway is Beauty and the Beast.

64. One of my favorite children�s TV shows was Mr. Rogers� Neighborhood.

65. I finished my grade 12 English during my first semester of grade 11.

66. The teachers usually discouraged that, because English is a subject that requires more maturity than, say, math, because it�s more emotionally and experientially based.

67. Even though I was the youngest one in the class, I still ended the semester with the highest mark.

68. I took grade 12 Math during my second semester of grade 11.

69. That was mostly because I really, really don�t like math, and I wanted to get it over with.

70. I�ve been involved with Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat twice.

71. The first time, I was 12, and in grade 6. The school put on a production, and I played the Narrator. It wasn�t that great a show, overall, although I suppose it was okay for a bunch of grade 5, 6, and 7 kids.

72. The second time, I was in my third year of college, and I was the Head of Props. That was a huge job, but I was really pleased with job I did in the end.

73. I have yet to act/sing/dance in a major musical (besides Joseph in grade 6),although I�ve been involved in several behind the scenes.

74. That�s something I want to change this year.

75. My favorite place to do homework�especially getting reading done�is Denny�s. There aren�t the distractions of TV and the Internet, and someone else keeps my snack supply replenished.

76. I almost never go to Denny�s before 10:00 p.m.

77. I used to hang out there a lot with friends, but now I usually go by myself.

78. My favorite Disney characters are the Princesses�Belle, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Ariel, Jasmine, and Snow White.

79. My favorite Princesses are Belle and Cinderella.

80. I wrote my first novel in November 2002, when I did Nanowrimo for the first time.

81. I started a novel when I was in high school, but never finished it.

82. There�s a Christmas Tree ornament sitting on my TV, of Snoopy sitting at a typewriter. The paper in the typewriter says �2002,� and it�s my memento of NaNo �02.

83. I�m not very self-conscious about my looks, especially about always having perfect hair and makeup. I don�t care if people�guys or girls�see me in my pyjamas, or with my glasses on, or with hair dye in my hair, or right after I wake up.

84. That came partly from living in dorms�when there were 40 of us (about 15 guys and 25 girls) living in the same building, it�s pointless to be overly concerned about looks, because people will see you no matter what you look like.

85. I�ve dyed my hair almost every actual hair color, except blonde.

86. I was naturally blonde until I was 8 or so, though.

87. I haven�t dyed it bright blue, or purple, or pink, or orange or anything like that.

88. I consider my theatrical talents to be pretty versatile�I can act, direct, sing, do tech, or stage manage, and feel like I�m capable of doing a good job.

89. Sometimes I wish I had just one predominant talent that I could really develop and be known for.

90. But then I realize that it will help my career if I�m confident and trained in more than one area.

91. I really like shopping on ebay.

92. The thing I buy most are books, because I can get big lots of books, and get a great deal, usually.

93. When I was in junior high, my family used to watch Seventh Heaven and Touched By An Angel every Sunday night.

94. The dance scenes in the Broadway version of Beauty and the Beast made me tear up. Both dance scenes.

95. I could spend a lot of money at used bookstores.

96. I�ve eaten at Gray�s Papaya, the hot dog stand in NYC that�s in Fools Rush In, You�ve Got Mail and Sex in the City, and who knows how many other TV shows and movies.

97. When I get married, I want my first dance with my husband to be �Kissing You,� by Des�ree, from the R + J soundtrack.

98. There is a chain of little elves hanging from my ceiling right above my desk.

99. I�ve worn glasses since I was 9 years old, and contacts since I was 20.

100. My favorite season is summer.

101. The last fact is the hardest one to think of, because I want it to be really good and memorable.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:10 p.m.