about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Mar. 20
... Everything that has breath
Wow--it's been a long time since I updated last. It's been a busy weekend, to say the least, and I haven't been online at all in the past few days.

"Anne Frank" is over, believe it or not. After everything, it's over, and I do feel that sane twang of bittersweet reflection that always comes at the end of the show. Although I'm glad (in most senses) that it's over, it did turn out well, and it was worth my time and effort, no matter how many times I may have questioned that. People were touched, the kids had a good time (for the most part), and I don't think that 90% of the cast and crew had any idea of the drama that was going on around them, which is a good thing.

Nathan, Vickie, Kim, and I ended up hanging out until very late both nights after the show--opening night at Timmy's, and closing night at Denny's--talking about all kinds of random stuff. The show, theatre, theology, literature, relationships, school, work... it was actually really fun, and one of my top 10 memories from the show, I think. Although two days isn't really long enough to start compiling a "Top 10" list, is it?

I realized just how young a lot of the cast is when I compared their ages with those of my siblings, and realized that the majority of them are closer to my brother's age than to my sister's. And that, my dears, makes me feel old.

I guess I'll have to get used to it, though--if I'm going to work with kids that age on a regular basis, they're just going to keep getting younger and younger.

I had a rather frightening moment the other day. Kim has told me before that she'd love to work for my company, which is exciting and cool and wonderful and everything, but... the other day, she told me that working for my company would be enough to keep her in Calgary and motivate her to stay at RMC. And, you know, for some reason, it kind of freaks me out that someone believes in it that much. That's not theoretical--that's practical, sacrificial reality. It means that I have something that people can believe in, and there's a lot of responsibility that comes along with that.

Blair and I had an interesting chat with Shannon, one of the younger girls at work, tonight. A bit of an ego boost, maybe? I think we both left the store feeling quite a bit more mature and wise than we had when we arrived several (or in his case, many) hours earlier. Meh--whatever works. It was just funny, though. Her ideologies are so different from both of ours--partly because of age, but mostly because she just comes at life from a completely different perspective. It makes for some interesting conversations, though.

And speaking of work... I have the next two days off! Becky was actually able to give me two (unrequested) days off in a row. And, to make it even better... as of 9:05 tonight (when I left the store), I have absolutely no obligations, meetings, rehearsals, or anything until 6:45 on Tuesday evening. Yeah, you heard right. Tuesday. Isn't that incredible? I don't know when the last time I had a day that free was.

Maybe I'll try to call Jen. I just talked to my grandma last week, but maybe I'll call Lynsae or something. Blair and I are going to try to go to a movie in the evening, I think (we still have gift certificates from Christmas), but I don't even know if there's anything good playing that either of us wants to spend those on.

You know the best thing? I just cleaned the house, so there isn't even that much of that kind of thing to do. Some disaster relief from Anne, but other than that...

Anyways, I believe that I have sufficiently proven that I am alive and have not been buried by cue books, racks of costumes, or (more likely) piles and piles of props and set dressing. I am here, I just haven't been online. Around. Present. Available. Within reach. Easily contacted. You get the picture.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:08 p.m.