about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Dec. 3
... Singing the same song all over again
What is it about the beginning of December? I think there's something about this time of this month that causes everything to go screwy.

Anyways. Tonight we went to the Operation Christmas Child warehouse to sort boxes. I really like doing that--this is the fourth year I've done it, and it's always a good start to the Christmas season for me.

It's funny how the season snowballs (no pun intended) once it begins. There are the Christmas decorations in the malls... then the Santa Claus parade... and for me, the real beginning is the Rocky concert. That kind of kicks it all off.

After that, there's no turning back--pretty soon it's the Rocky banquet, then the church production, then the kids' play, then Christmas parties, and pretty soon, the Christmas Eve service is upon us, and then it's Christmas Day itself... and it all begins in the smallest possible ways.

So, do you like my new layout? I was going to try to do a holiday one, but I just didn't have the motivation or the patience. I might change this one still before Christmas, but for now, I thought this was appropriate, since I'm looking for inspiration to write my Tutorial paper, which is all about my spiritual journeys this semester. And we all know that it's been about taking a leap of faith, right?

Anyways, I should get going on that, since it's midnight, and I want a decent sleep tomorrow. I'm exhausted, for some reason, and I should be in bed and asleep before 3:30, I think. That would probably be wise...

But before I go... there are new quotes up. Go check them out, okay?

One year ago today: I wish I could believe the apologies, the excuses, the explanations, but they come too few, too late. I've listened to them for four years now, and they're rarely more than a temporary, makeshift fix-it. They never change anything in the long run. I can't trust them anymore. Maybe "this time" they are real; maybe they are more than just a "get back on my good side" solution, but I can't believe that anymore. I've seen too much to be innocent.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:35 p.m.