about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Mar. 24
... The donkey, part 2
Happy Birthday to Lindsay! Yay! :o) Go sign her guestbook and give her lots of love, okay?

So about that Palm Sunday thing. Let me explain what happens here, okay? On Palm Sunday morning, as part of the celebration (and sort of a "teaser" for the Easter drama), the cast and choir do a 5 or 10-minute segment in the service. Usually, it consists of the crowd (of about 50 or so people) walking in, all decked out in Bible time gear, waving palm branches and shouting, "Hosanna! Praise him! It's Jesus! Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!" and such phrases, with Jesus on a donkey (yes, a real donkey in church) somewhere in the middle of or at the end of the crowd. They circle the sanctuary, ending up on the platform, and then sing a song that has to do with Palm Sunday.

Anyways, this morning, during the first service, the crowd was pretty enthusiastic in their "Hosanna!"'s, but they weren't really interacting with the crowd or anything--half the fun of doing that kind of part in the play is getting in someone's face and getting all excited saying, "The king is coming! It's Jesus! Hosanna!" and such things. I was sitting on an aisle, and during the break between services, I commented to my dad that I expected to be bombarded more, and I expected to be hit in the face with a palm branch at least once!

So, during the second service I was again sitting on the aisle about 6 or 7 rows from the front on the side they entered from, and they came in, and as they walked past, most of them were talking to people, shaking hands, getting excited... getting the congregation much more involved. Which is great. My dad and Laura both hit me in the face with their palm branches, and my dad said that the cast had been "told" during the break that they needed to pick it up a bit.

The funniest thing about it, though, was that half of the cast talked to the first few people on the aisles, skipped a few, talked to me, skipped a few more, and then talked to more people. I think I got more comments than anyone sitting right around me. Coincidental fluke, or hd someone told them that I'd commented specifically? I don't know. I know my dad and Laura were purposely for me, but the rest...?? I don't know. I guess that'll remain a mystery. Unless I ask someone and they tell me flat out. :o)

I'm excited to see the play this weekend, though. I was in it for years and years, and it's kinda strange not to be, but it'll be all good... It'll be fun to watch it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:31 p.m.