about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, May 7
... Waiting on the wonderful
Apparenly, when I'm old and have Alzheimer's, the only thing I will remember is that I have to place the Coke order. Until then, we're out of luck, I guess, because I'll never remember until I actually have Alzheimer's. I still can't believe we both forgot about it on Thursday. We'll never live that one down, will we?

I read somewhere that there's a study that suggests that women actually have a lower, rather than higher, pain tolerance than men do. Pain is such a subjective thing to measure, but in this study, they found that women were more likely to use words like "excruciating" than men were, suggesting that women have a lower pain tolerance.

I say, that just proves that women tend more towards the dramatic. Plus, who knows if what they measured as "excruciating" on a man was actually the same "level" of pain as on a woman. Women have to have a higher pain tolerance overall--otherwise, why would God have given us childbirth? Men can't handle that!

And that random sidebar came from the fact that I was going to say that this week is going to kill me, and then I started thinking back at how many times I've used that expression, or something similar to it. I am a case in point of a woman being more dramatic in her language, even though the end result really isn't all that spectacular. I always say things like that. "This week is going to kill me." "I was about ready to fall over." "My favorite thing ever is..."

I totally exaggerate, and I totally admit it. I just love words, and the best words are the most extreme. If I'm going to have the most fun with language, I've got to take it to the edge.

Okay, maybe not. Maybe I'm just a drama queen, and even though I don't tend that way in every area of my life, there are those areas where my dramatics shine more brightly than other areas.

Anyways... this is going to be a hectic week. I think that I can safely say that without committing myself to any extremes, don't you?

I'm going to go hang out in front of the TV for a while. I need the downtime, and it's not even 10:30 yet---early night for me!
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:09 p.m.