about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Mar. 24
... Feels like morning in your eyes
Just when I thought my life couldn't get any stranger...

Becky is now my official "family planner." In the non-reproductive sense. I just call it plain old common sense. I mean really. You never know who you'll end up being related to, do you? It just makes sense to be nice to everyone, because someday... they just might be your in-laws.

What? You mean that not everyone approaches relationships that way?

I had something incredibly profound to write about, but of course, it's gone. What else is new?

I find it so hard to believe that it's been a year since I was eyeball-deep in showcase stuff. That was such the culmination of all my time at RMC, and I poured so much into it. This week last year, I was in the middle of Hobbit, showcase, work, papers, exams, and it seemed like I would never get out of there.

Now... I dunno. I'm working on a lot of projects, but in a way, my time feels less productive. Maybe it's because there isn't the variety. I still have 12-14 hour days, but they tend to be doing 2 or 3 things, instead of 7 or 8. I'll have work, a meeting, and a rehearsal, instead of a few hours of work, 3 classes, 2 meetings, 3 rehearsals...

That's one thing I miss about being a student--the variety in my schedule. It's such a change to be in one place, doing one thing for 8 hours straight. Part of that, granted, is the nature of my job--there are many jobs that offer more variety in meetings, errands, projects, and assignments than mine does, but still... the idea that I'm doing one thing for that much of the day is strange.

Maybe the stability in routine helps to contribute to the stability in emotion too, though. Life is so much less dramatic, even though I tend to be just as busy, and maybe part of that is just the fact that I'm not in as many places at once.

I think a bigger factor is just growing up, but it's nice to see the different elements of that come into play.

I came over to Kat's house right after work, and have been using her computer, playing with Jakob, and keeping her company ever since. I have a rehearsal at 8:30, so I'm just killing time until then, and then Kim and I are going to see Phantom in the cheap theatres--one more time on the big screen!

One year ago today: I woke up this morning well before my alarm with dance steps and lines running through my head. Not, I started thinking about them when I woke up, but as I was waking up, I was running Joyful Joyful in my head. I can only imagine what my dreams were. Maybe it's a good thing I can't remember all of them. Although I'm pretty impressed that I've only had one nightmare about my showcase. One really random dream, where my showcase turned into a wedding, but other than that, just the one nightmare.
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:04 p.m.