about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Aug 3
... Hair Princess
Welcome to the world of Alida. It's hot outside, and I'm stuck in an office. Oh well. Only for a while longer--it's FRIDAY!!!! But I have to work tomorrow and Sunday too (but not all day either day, so that's amazingly wonderful). Again I say, oh well. It's tuition money in the bank. Which is a blessing. Anyways, after I get off, I'm going to go cut my hair (I was going to buzz it, but Murray's squawking about that and work, so it's just going short again). I know, I know, I'm trying to grow it out, but I get soooooo sick of it! I really do like my hair long, but I just don't think I'm destined to ever get it past my jaw ever again! I'm just too stinkin' impatient. I hate growing it out. With a fiery passion. I wish I had Cabbage Patch Doll hair--you know, the ponytail that you pull, and it grows, and then you crank their arms, and it retracts back into their head. That would make my life so much easier. Anyways, then I'm going to go buy picture frames and screws and finish decorating my house. At least, my bedroom. I'm so thankful that all the boxes are out of my room. It looks like a real house now, not a casualty of the attack of the cardboard boxes. And then, some good God-time this afternoon. I would enjoy that muchly. I'm sure he will too.

Even after coming back from something as incredible as SEMP, it's still so easy to fall back into the same patterns that I was in before. Especially when those patterns included spending not nearly enough time with God. Other years, I've been able to come back and get into my previous rhythm of life, which included some good, solid God-time, but this year I was so messed up before SEMP that I'm building from so much less now. I'm not complaining about it, because I know that it was my fault, and that I could have done so much more to change it, but I didn't. But it's never too late to get back into good habits and patterns again. I've missed it this week. Even though I'm in such a Christian environment all the time at work and everything, I still need that time with just God and I, building myself with him, and no one else is really included in that time. If I don't have that, all the rest of what I do with and for God is so much less rich. It doesn't have the same impact on or through me.

So, that's what I'm going to do this afternoon and evening. And hopefully, my two amazing friends from yesterday are going to a football game tonight. Yay for them! It's about time! ;o) I gotta run and hide before they find this and shoot me for posting their lives on the internet! Later...
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:09 p.m.