about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Dec. 11
... One semester left...
Finals are over!!! My semester is finished! And now the break that has been teasing me for the past week can finally begin... *sigh* I'm excited for that.

Now, of course, I have no reason to continue procrastinating on my packing, but I can always pretend, can't I? I'm sure I can think of some reason why I can't start packing yet...

I know! I have to finish writing my Christmas cards, and of course I can't pack until those are finished... Hmmm... I wonder how long I can convince myself of that. I wonder if I can convince myself that it would be avantageous to go home and go back to bed for a little while before I get on with the rest of my day. What that will entail, I'm not sure, but I'm sure there are things that need to be done. But first... a good book, a little bit of a nap (maybe), and some me-time.

We had our NaNo party last night--that was fun times. About 6 of us there, and we just sat around and talked and ate. What else do we do? Not much, it seems, but it's always fun to hang out together. I think my parents thought we were a little bit strange, but oh well... I'm sure they enjoyed having some extra people hanging out at the house last night. It was kinda crazy, though--my brother got home from the hospital yesterday, it was his birthday, and we invaded. But we all sang Happy Birthday, and then we got ice cream cake.

Anyways, I should get going, give Janel a ride home, and then head home myself, and see how Kat's paper is coming. Because, if she gets it done tonight, that means we can go to a movie or something later. And I want to do that--I miss hanging out with her a lot.

One year ago today: The house is almost silent, except for the humming of the computer and the clicking of the keys. "Foolish Games" by Jewel is playing quietly from my computer speakers, but other than that, there's no noise. The room is almost warm, but basement-cold enough for me to still need my sweatshirt, and a blanket if I was motivated enough to get up and wrap myself in it. My bed is looking invitingly warm and comfy, the blue duvet rumpled over the hot pink sheets. Kathy was just sitting there in her grey Huskie sweats with a towel wrapped around her neck and a toothbrush in her mouth, reading the nearest thing, which happened to be last year's yearbook, but now she's gone to bed.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:58 a.m.