about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, May. 14
... Pink with rhinestones
I'm ever so ladylike. Really, I am. I didn't feel like changing out of my skirt when I got home from work, and it's pretty comfortable, so there was no need to... but now I'm sitting at my computer with my feet up on the desk. If anyone were to actually walk into the house right now, they'd be greeted by a rather... interesting sight--my skirt hiked halfway up my thighs, with my underwear probably showing, too. But it's fun. It's bright pink with little rhinestones on it, and it kinda matches the pink in my skirt. Oh-kay. Enough of that.

So tonight, in the first hour or so of my shift, three different couples decided that my kiosk looked like a nice one to make out next to. Not just a little peck, or walking down the mall holding hands. No, this was definitely more than that. And the funniest thing was that one of the guys, after standing about ten feet away from me exchanging spit with his girlfriend for five minutes, walked up with a resume to apply for a job. Um, hello? Can you get any more unprofessional? Is it really that hard to walk around the corner from the place you're going to apply to work? Anyways, that amused me. In an odd sort of way.


It's interesting to think about what makes people the way they are. We're all influenced in countless ways by countless people, from the defining moments upon which hinge a distinct "before" and "after," to the most miniscule of impressions that bombard us from moment to moment. Some of these influences are positive, some are negative, some are good, some are bad, but the one thing they're not is ineffectual.

It's interesting how the same experiences can affect people so differently. No two people perceive the same event the exact same way. People have different priorities, different scars, different memories, so the way it affects them will be different as well.

It's scary sometimes. Frightening, in an odd way, to look at the way two people have changed in front of each other's eyes, and no one's noticed, until one of those defining moments happens. When did we become so unobservant of other people? When did we cease to see what happens in our neighbor's life? When it becomes a surprise to see that a friend has become unexpected, something's not right.

How does someone change so drastically in full view, though? What compels them to become such a different person? We all become different people, yes, but I mean dangerously different.

I don't know. I don't know how to say what I'm trying to get out without being too specific. I just wonder. I wonder what's influenced me that much, and what someone looking at me thinks. I wonder if they think the same things about me that I think about others. I wonder what influences there have been in others' lives to make them act the way they do; to have molded them into the men and women they are becoming. What influences, for good or for bad, have I had in their lives?
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:59 p.m.