about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Jan. 13
... The Bronx is up, the Battery's down
I finally got to Rocky, paid the balance on my account, and picked up my parchment today! So that means that I have now officially graduated. I forever and always have that piece of paper that proves I have that education.

Excellent.

Which reminds me of what Dean Ashton said at graduation: You can lose your wealth, your relationships, your marriage can fail, your children can hate you, you can become a bum on the street, but the one thing that can never be taken away is your education. And that was an incredibly poorly-structured, long sentence for someone who is supposedly smart enough to have a degree!

I ran into Dave, whom I haven't seen since finals were over. That was nice--good to catch up and see what he's up to.

I also heard, for anyone who may or may not know who they are and are potentially wondering, that Skipp and Raigne are fine--they were more inland in Thailand when the tsunami hit, and they're safe. I know no more details than that, but that's something, anyways.

Hmmm. Does anyone care to donate some money to the "Alida needs to see Jen during Jen's reading week" fund? I need a few pesos for that little project. It's not a totally out to lunch idea, but it may or may not work. We'll have to see how things go. And how much money I can squirrel away in the next month. If I can put away $600-ish, it just might work. Plans need to be made within the next few days, though. Ohhhh... so exciting! :o) This--either set of plans--would be very, very fun.

Ah, the other thing. I'm having a bit of a crisis. I was talking about Cue 47 a while ago, but after a conversation with Sean the other day, I now can't remember if it was Cue 45 or Cue 47. Oh dear.

And, yes, I did go see Finding Neverland with Laurel, Sean, and Ken, but I'm running out of time right now, so no review at the moment. Maybe later--we'll see. Let's just say that it was well worth a) the wait to see it and b) the hassle to get everyone to the theatre last night.

One year ago today: So, graduation. Coming up pretty quickly. It's interesting how things work out with our class. Between the 10-ish of us who have been together for the past 4 years, there's a lot of history and a lot of memories, and no matter how rocky the road has been, there's the bond and the connection that's there, no matter what. There are some different plans for graduation, like a houseboating trip, and last night, I heard about another idea... matching tattoos. Something that will be something that represents our class, and then we'll all get the same tattoo, wherever we want, and whatever size we want.
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:02 p.m.