about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Mar 6
... Workin' the car wash blues
So after months of searching and agonizing, in one day, I have several opportunities fall into my lap. *sigh* What to do, what to do. First of all, the friendly, eager-for-me-to-work-for-him guy from Tickers called me and asked if I want to start right away--he actually even offered me a trial/training shift for tonight! I can't do that, but he wants me to come in and start next week, as soon as possible, if I'm still interested. It would be a pretty easy job--kinda boring, at times, but not overly difficult, and he seems like he'd be a good boss. So, that's good... and I'm thinking, "Finally! I can quit here!"

But then, no more than 2 hours later, Marva and I sat down to discuss the summer. She's giving me about 3 or 4 more hours a week now, which is great--I totally need those hours--and she offered me a slightly-more-than-half-time position for summer. Basically, 25 hours a week, possibly more, at my current wage, running the summer Sunday School programming. Doing all the recruiting, all the prep... basically running the whole thing, which would be kinda nice to be doing it on my own instead of under her thumb all the time. And because a few of those hours would be on Sundays, I'd probably get the "pastor's week" with Mondays off. I wouldn't be doing camps all summer, either, which I enjoy, but I don't want to do that all summer again.

I know I've been whining about wanting to quit forever, but now that I actually have the opportunity for more hours, I don't know what I want anymore! And for the summer... especially if the job ends up being full-time... 40 hours a week at $9.25 is a lot more than 40 hours a week at $7.50. I just don't know. I just have to let her know by the end of March if I want the summer position or not. Only catch with that is that it doesn't start until June, so I'd have a month with no full-time work. I'd still have my part-time job for May, but I wouldn't start full-time until June, and I'd like to start full-time as soon as I can after school is out.

I guess I'll talk to Dave, the Tickers guy, find out what he'd pay and how much chance there is of a raise, and find out if there's any possibility at all of getting full-time work over the summer. Then... I'll sit down and figure out which I'd rather do--taking into consideration everything: the wages, the hours (because things with Marva are pretty flexible, at least for now), the full-time potential, and--possibly the biggest thing--whether or not I could handle working with Marva any longer!! The other thing is, I'm pretty sure Marva's pregnant again, so who knows how much longer she'll be here anyways... whether or not she'll stay on, or what's going to happen there. I have no idea, anything I could guess would just be speculation, and besides that's not an issue until after summer anyways.

Ah well... it'll all work out. And maybe I'll get some other job offer that'll completely blow these ones out of the water! But I guess we'll have to see about that. And for now, I have basically till the end of this week to decide whether or not I want to take the Tickers job and quit here, or whether or not I want to stay here, be grateful for the hours I'm getting this month, and hold out for something else.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:47 p.m.