about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Mar 6
... Random thoughts on my day
Mike's a good friend. :o) I'm realizing more and more that he's my friend, not just "Jen's boyfriend who I happen to get along with well." True, I was friends with Jen first, and true, I started talking to Mike through her, but he's been a good friend and a good encouragement to me over the months that I've known him... how long has that been? It's been close to 3 years with her, and probably a year and a half with him... or something like that. In any case, the point is that he's a good friend, and I appreciate him a lot.

I love knowing about all their surprises for each other and being in on all the little secrets... it satisfies my curious, "must know everything" side. :o)

Anyways, I was just talking to him, and I was thinking about that.

I'm a little less grouchy than I was before. I would still like to know, though, how it can possibly take me almost 2 hours to get home from the church!? It's a 10 minute drive, for crying out loud!! There is no possible way that it should have taken from 7:45, when I finished at the doctor's, until almost 9:45 to get home. That's insane. Even the transit system should not be so inefficient. Apparently, though, it is. Bleah.

So, I waited and waited and waited, cursing the weather, the buses, my job, and just about everything else I could possibly think of the entire time, until I got home, and my computer wouldn't start, the microwave was being dumb, and generally everything continued to go wrong. Yah. It's just been one of those days. Be glad you weren't around me today. It would have been even worse than yesterday. And you thought I was a jerk yesterday. Heh.

I miss Ellen. She took me out for supper today, and we got to talk, but it's just not the same as working with her almost every day, seeing her all the time, and having her know about all the stuff in my life, not just what I can fill her in on in a couple of hours. I love hanging out with her, but it just makes me realize even more how much I dislike working with Marva. My job has become just that--just a job. It used to be social, growing, mentoring, getting advice, hearing from women who are wiser and more experienced than I am, working together, having fun, listening to them gently make fun of my youth and realizing that my problems aren't the end of the world. Now, it's just a job. Just something I do to pay the bills, and these days, not much more.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:56 p.m.