about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Apr 1
... FIve times five
And I'm jumping on the bandwagon...

15 years ago I...
1. Was almost five years old
2. Had my first "friend" birthday party, and invited Nathan, Nathan (otherwise known as Higgie and Biggie), Kathryn, Nadine, and Chandra.
3. Thought that my babysitter Shannon was the coolest thing in the world.
4. Wanted to go to to school sooo badly.
5. Wasn't allowed to ride my bike all the way around the block, just to the playground and back.

10 years ago I...
1. Wrote and directed plays for my grade four class.
2. Was a teacher's helper for a grade one class.
3. Had a crush on Jeff... a crush which continued very vaguely (you know, one of those ones that you know will never be acted on, and you don't even really want it to be acted on at all, but there's still that vague little twinge) at least through junior high, if not into high school. But like I said, very, very vaguely.
4. Thought that "Home Improvement" was a Bob Vila-type show, and couldn't understand why it was popular with my friends.
5. Was incredibly excited to be in the "double-digits" with my age.

5 years ago I...
1. Was getting ready to go to Mexico with the youth group in the summer.
2. Spent almost too much time with Colleen, Brendan, and Jordan during the Easter play. We were inseparable... and it was so much fun! :o)
3. Didn't know Christy, or Matt, or Laura, or Lynsae, or several of my other friends I know well now.
4. Was getting ready to go to Ontario and Quebec with my grade 9 class.
5. Was in quizzing

2 years ago I...
1. Was dating Brian.
2. Found the perfect pattern and fabric for my grad dress. 3. Got accepted to both Rocky and Providence
4. Started garage-saling for when I moved out.
5. Was working on my grade 10 piano

1 year ago I...
1. Got my nose pierced
2. Moved out of dorms and had one of the most eventful, stressful, and exciting weeks of my life.
3. Started to hang out with Kathy a lot again
4. Liked Jade
5. Had Lynsae do my "photo shoot" with Laura, and had one of our many vehicular adventures, this one involving an angel on Crowchild Trail.

Yesterday I...
1. Finished the interviews for my youth culture project
2. Plucked my eyebrows.
3. Made a new layout for my diary
4. Went to church
5. Wore makeup

Today I...

1. Didn't have time to take a nap.
2. Finished work 5 minutes after my bus came, so I had to wait another half hour for it to come.
3. Bought toilet paper
4. Presented my structured improv with Leah
5. Talked to Kathy on my cell while I rode the bus home from work.

Tomorrow I will... 1. Work on "Children See, Children Do" and the other play that I can't remember the name of in troupe.
2. Try to get my Youth Culture paper at least half finished
3. Not have to work at either of my jobs
4. Maybe go to C&C (depending on how the paper's coming)
5. Get to see Kat!

Five snacks I enjoy...
1. five-cent candies
2. fruit juice
3. fresh fruit
4. crackers and cheese
5. homemade cookies

Five songs I know all the words to, even without the music....
1. "Elephant Love Medley" from Moulin Rouge
2. "Hanging by a Moment" by Lifehouse
3. almost anything Michael W. Smith, dcTalk, Jars of Clay, Newsboys, and a couple of other groups like that (most of the old, and a fair bit of their new stuff)...
4. "Eileen's Song" by Burlap to Cashmere
5. "The Rainbow Connection" by Kermit the Frog

Five games I like...
1. Stock Ticker (if you play with Norm and a bunch of other screaming people!)
2. "The Question Game"
3. Taboo
4. Outburst
5. Scattergories

Five things I would buy with a $1000...
1. Part of a semester's tuition
2. a shopping spree at Ikea!
3. A vacation somewhere warm
4. Put it towards a piano
5. some fun new clothes

Top five locations I'd like to run away to...
1. The undisclosed location that the magical van called "Home" (or something else!) would take us.
2. California
3. Italy
4. New York City
5. Hawaii

Five bad habits I have...
1. Reading too much into things
2. procrastinating
3. apathy (on occasion)
4. sleeping as much as I possibly can
5. being addicted to being online

Five things I would never wear...
1. A short little skirt over matching bike shorts (think grade 3)
2. Most of my mom's clothes!
3. Shirts that show more skin than they cover
4. 3-inch platform shoes
5. stilletto heels
infinite || abyss
posted at 11:35 p.m.