about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Oct. 1
... Everything is not as it seems
I liked this.

Five Things You May Not Know About My Time In School Are:

  1. It was always my dream to be the class president. I campaigned in grade six, and didn't get it, but I was student council president in grade 12.

  2. I thought that the most exciting thing was being able to buy my own school supplies and not having to use the same ones the teacher supplied.

  3. The building that my college was in used to be a church, and it was my church from the time I was born until I was about 10.

  4. I took shop and home ec for one semester each. In grade 7.

  5. I still have almost all my class notes from every class I took during 4 years of college, and most of them through high school.


Five Things You May Not Know About the Job (Jobs) I Have (Or Had) Are:

  1. I've been employed by my church for over 5 years, in at least 3 different positions.

  2. When we were living together, Kat and I worked at mall kiosks next to each other, and didn't tell our respective bosses that we were roommates.

  3. I've been working at Quiznos for a year, and have more random weird connections with Becky and her family than is normal to have with a boss.

  4. Last semester, I was working 4 jobs. Only two were "normal" jobs, but I was getting paid for 4 different things that I was doing.

  5. I worked as a telemarketer for about 2 weeks before I decided it was just not for me.


Five Things You May Not Know About What I Do In A Typical Day Are:

  1. Linus only sleeps with me when I close the door and lock him into my bedroom.

  2. I get free coffee on my way to work because Alex works at a gas station and gives it to me.

  3. I only drink tea at night, unless I'm sick. Then I might drink it during the day.

  4. I often shower at the gym, because it saves on my home water bill, and because the showers at the gym stay hot longer.

  5. I usually have the TV on whenever I'm in my room, even if it's on mute or I'm not really watching it.

Five Things You May Not Know About My Online Life Are:

  1. I've had 4 different primary email addresses since I was first online, and several more that I use sporadically.

  2. I have 6 gmail invitations available to give away, if anyone wants one.

  3. I hate fighting on msn or AOL or whatever. It's so much worse than fighting in person.

  4. I mostly keep in touch with my grandma through email.

  5. When Brian and I were dating, a lot of our relationship (at least in the beginning) was conducted over msn.


Five Things You May Not Know About My Home Life Are:

  1. There are two cats living here, and they look almost identical.

  2. I've only lived in this house for a month.

  3. There are times where I don't see my roommates for a few days at a time, because we have such different schedules, and aren't home at the same times of day.

  4. My house burned down when I was 12, and the house my parents live in now is built on the same location, and is almost an identical floor plan.

  5. Of my 17 roommates, 4 have been boys.

Five Things You May Not Know About Where I Live Are:

  1. Calgary is the largest single municipality (in terms of land area) in Canada.

  2. We're one of few cities than have our traffic lights that hang horizontally, not vertically, in some places.

  3. Calgary hosted the 1988 Winter Olympics.

  4. We're an hour east of the mountains, and an hour west of completely flat prairies.

  5. Calgary is divided into four quadrants--NE, NW, SE, and SW, and Calgarians tend to stick to our "quadrant" of the city for shopping, recreation, etc.

Five Things You May Not Know That I Desperately Want Are:

  1. To be ultimately surprised.

  2. To get married and have a family.

  3. A better computer.

  4. To win the lottery and build a theatre.

  5. To own every book that Madeleine L'Engle has ever written.

Five Things You May Not Know That Are Really Important To Me Are:

  1. Getting to know some of my cousins, aunts, uncles, and family better.

  2. Spending 20 minutes reading before I fall asleep every night.

  3. Knowing that I've made an impact in someone's life.

  4. Spending some time every week as an artist, letting myself grow and be inspired by other people's forays into creativity.

  5. Rebuilding broken relationships, and giving things another chance, whenever I can.

Okay. Bedtime.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:57 p.m.