about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Mar. 14
... This is about as creative as it gets at this hour
Cast party was fun. When is hanging out with those kids not fun? Laurel's sleeping on my floor right now. I should be sleeping in my bed soon, but first, I'm going to post the Friday Five.

1. Do you like talking on the phone? Why or why not? Generally. It depends on whether the person on the other end of the line feels like it, though. It's a dandy way to have a conversation, but I always feel really awkward when someone else doesn't carry their end. On the whole, though, I enjoy it.

2. Who is the last person you talked to on the phone? Janna's answering machine. The last actual real person I talked to was Brian's mom, when I called to talk to him and he wasn't available.

3. About how many telephones do you have at home? Just two on our ground line--one in the living room, and one in my bedroom (it's weird to me that Janel and Chelsea don't have them in their rooms). Then there's my cell and Chelsea's cell. So I guess that's 4 phones, 3 lines.

4. Have you encountered anyone who has really bad phone manners? What happened? Yeah, I worked for a company that does phone-outs for charities and non-profit organizations. Some people see it the same as telemarketing (although it was never cold calling--it was always to previous subscribors/donors to that particular organization), so there were a few rude people. Most were pretty polite, though--they knew who was calling, so it made it easier... But besides that, I hate people who just answer in bored monosyllables. I always feel like I have to carry the entire conversation, and like they hate me, even if they don't.

5. Would you rather pick up the phone and call someone or write them an e-mail or a letter? Why or why not? Depends. If I'm in class, I want to surprise someone with mail, or I have a lot to explain about what's been going on in my life, I'll write a letter. If I have to confront someone, outline details, ask for questions, or book something, I'll write an email. If I just need quick information, I just want to chat, or I'm following up on a booking or something like that, I'll call. It really just depends on what the purpose of communication is.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:45 a.m.