about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jun. 6
... Miracles can happen
Answering a tag from jelibeary: My question for you is.... I see that you are a Believer, I was just wondering if you have seen a miracle small or large in your life and if not do you believe in miracles?

I have absolutely seen miracles, both in my life, and in the lives of others. Some of them have been the big, dramatic ones that a lot of people associate the word "miracle" with; others have been smaller, but equally miraculous.

One of the biggest ones I've seen was when I was in high school. My friend, Sarah, was diagnosed with cancer, and it was quite a rare form. The doctors didn't know if they'd be able to treat it--they knew they wouldn't be able to operate on it--but they began chemo and radiation. The tumor shrank faster than they ever expected, and she went into remission within six months. That was almost 5 years ago, and there's been no reoccurrance.

It was amazing--within a day of hearing her diagnosis, there was a chain of people praying across the country, and even around the world. I have no doubt that those prayers were a huge part of Sarah's recovery--God definitely answers prayer, and that was such a specific example.

One of my personal miracles came last summer. There was a missions trip offered with the theatre program at my school, travelling for six weeks, performing at different schools and churches along the way. I was having a really rough year, and was seriously considering taking some time off school, but I wanted the trip so badly, and I knew that I had to be in school in order to make the team. I auditioned, and didn't make the team, and I was devastated.

It was past the add/drop deadline for the semester, so I was stuck for the rest of it, and I really didn't want to be there. It was a few of the toughest months for me personally and academically, and by the end of the semester, I was a wreck. Actually, by exam week, I had made some really tough choices that needed to happen, and things were starting to get better, but I really needed to get out of the city so that I could heal.

I was definitely in a better place than I had been a few months before, but I still had a long ways to go, so I was looking for a way to leave. I had a few friends that I was looking into staying with for a month or so, when my professor told me that a spot had opened up on the team.

That was an amazing miracle. Friends and family supported me financially, and within three weeks, I was able to raise over $2000 (over twice what I needed) for my costs. The team dynamic changed dramatically when Josh left and I came on. I was able to get out of town and move past a lot of the crap in a neutral place. I got a lot closer to the other team members. I saw God do some incredible things through us, and within our group.

It was an unbelievable experience, and definitely a miracle.

So, yes, I've seen miracles. I've seen God work directly in people's lives, and I've seen the results in amazing ways.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:37 p.m.