about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Mar. 27
... Jump to the left and jump to the right
I have nowhere to be until 4:30 this afternoon. Which, of course, means that I'm going to be responsible and spend the day doing some homework and cleaning the house, since there will be precious little time to do either until after Joseph is over. Best to get it done now, while I have the time.

I really am going to be responsible today, though. I have all kinds of things that I need to do, and I'm going to get them done! I will, I will, I will! I know I sometimes lose my motivation halfway through, but I'll get it done today.

My other big thing will be doing cards for the cast. I love to leave notes in the dressing room on opening night, with encouraging quotes or Bible verses, or something, in them. When we did Mayville, I left notes for every performance, but since we have 5 performances of Joseph, and a cast of 30, I'm not doing 150 cards. And I'm not doing cards for the kids, the choir, the orchestra, or the whole crew. That's just too much. I'll do them for the cast and for my immediate crew. But that means that I have to find quotes for 35 cards. That'll be fun.

No, for real. I have a book, Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, that's one of the most amazing books I own. It's huge--it's about 800 pages of quotes from songs, literature, speeches, poetry, plays, whatever, from throughout history. Inspirational, political, religious, thought-provoking... you name it, it's in there. It's all listed chronologically according to the author's birthdate, and then at the back of the book, there's a concordance type of thing, where you can look for a quote according to a word that's in it. It was a gift from my high school English teacher when I graduated.

Anyways, it's amazing for doing birthday cards, or letters, or papers, or encouragement notes, or whatever. It's so much fun. :o)

Okay. I'm going to go be productive now. I've set myself up for this--now I actually have to do it!

One year ago today: I'm sitting at my computer with a big towel around my body, and a little towel wrapped around my head, and I keep seeing the shadow of a tree on the house next door through my bedroom window, and when I catch it out of the corner of my eye, I think there's someone out there, watching me.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:56 a.m.