about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, May 22
... When friends are hard to find
I can't believe I'm actually writing about a TV show on here. Good grief. What levels have I sunk to?

Having said that, here I go. I'm disappointed that Clay didn't win. That voice? Incredible. I will definitely buy his cd when it comes out (because we all know that one will come out). I can't say that I'm too disappointed, though. They're both very deserving finalists, and I'm sure that they'll both have incredible careers. Okay, I'm off my TV box for the moment.

I think I need to have a bunch of people over one of these days. Once Logan and Kate leave (Friday and tomorrow, respectively), I'll have no excuse not to have people over. I've got the place to myself, I can have snacks, movies, a place to hang out--if I'm lucky, this can be a good hang-out spot for a bunch of people. That would be fun. I'd like it a lot if people were comfortable just coming over whenever. I want to have an open, inviting house. I think that's really important.

I think that libraries are one of the greatest inventions ever. A place where I can get an unlimited number of new books to read for $10 a year? It's really quite a brilliant idea. Except for the fact that it's not letting me into the catalogue to look for books to put on hold. Grr.

I've never understood how people can not like reading. It's been second nature to me for as long as I can remember--I think I started reading when I was 3 or 4. Anyways, it's something that's always been such an escape, a way to learn without feeling like I was learning, a release of emotion and tension, a doorway into so many other worlds.

I've felt like I've known and loved so many of the characters that I've gotten to know, I've had my theology and my beliefs stretched and challenged, I've gleaned all kinds of useless facts about random things, I've learned proper grammar and sentence structure, I've discovered how people live in places other than my own, I've let myself feel and love deeply in a way that I didn't have the opportunity to in real life...

I love words. It's always baffled me how people can be so flippant about grammar, sentence structure, spelling, punctuation, and communication in general. These are your words! These are what represent you to other people! How can you take them so lightly? My parents tried to keep me humble by pointing out the fact that people are good at different things. I'm not an athletic person--I'm active enough to be healthy, but phys ed was never my strong subject--and they used that as an example. There are some people to whom hockey is second nature, and they just can't understand how someone can't love it and be naturally good at it.

My response to that was that hockey isn't a life skill. A good command of the English language is. It'll get you a whole lot further than just being in good shape will. It's far more essential to be in good intellectual shape than pristine physical condition.

Wow. What a tangent. And all because I can't get into the library catalogue tonight, for some reason. Dang computer. Look what you made me do this time.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:08 a.m.