about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Jan 26
... All five of those silly senses
I did something weird to my tooth this morning... almost like I chipped it or something. It's not a big chip or anything, and it doesn't hurt, but it's like there's a little sliver of tooth enamel that's sharp, and when I rub my tongue against it, it's, well, sharp. Oh, I have an exciting life. :op

So, since I have nothing else to say, I'm going to resort to today's Spark to give me some ideas.

A freak microwave popcorn accident has landed you in the emergency room. The neurosurgeon informs you that in order to save your life, you'll have to sacrifice one of your five senses. Which sense � sight, smell, taste, touch, or hearing � could you live without? Why?

I had a question like this in my acting journal last year, when we were doing sense exercises in Tech of Acting...

I would give up sight. I could never, ever give up touch, because that would be the most isolating thing ever... to know that people were there but never be able to give feel them, to give or receive a hug or a kiss, and know what it felt like. Sound would be so similar. Even if you can't see, if you can hear people, you know you're not alone, and you know that people are with you. I would hate to not have sound, either. It would be like living in a glass box, and not being able to touch what was on the other side.

As for losing sight over taste or smell... I don't know why I'd rather lose my sight. Maybe it's because I wear glasses, and I'm blind as a bat without them, so I know that I can function without full sight. If I can do that, I could probably function without sight, period. I know it's a far cry from actually being blind, but it's like I've already lost half of it, and I could lose the other half.

But maybe I'd rather lose taste and smell. I group them together because they're so connected. I'm not sure, though. I mean, without them, how would I satisfy my pms-y cravings?! ;o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:47 p.m.