about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Sept. 12
... Welcome to the big time
My poor kitten. He's just so overwhelmed by all the people around. And I don't really know anyone who's left, so I'm hanging out in my room for a few minutes. It's been a long day--I had a class at 9 this morning, so I've been going non-stop since 7:45 or so. It's been a good day, though, and the party's been all kinds of good fun. Anyways, it's Friday, and it's getting late-ish, and I'm tired-ish, so I'm going to do the Friday Five in lieu of a real, original entry.

1. Is the name you have now the same name that's on your birth certificate? If not, what's changed? Yep, it's still all the same. Alida Ruth. And, unfortunately, my last name hasn't changed at all. I suppose that's partly my fault, but we won't get into that today.

2. If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be? I've never really ever thought of changing it (besides the obvious last name change with marriage), but I guess I'd change my middle name to Elizabeth or something like that. Although my aunt's name is Elizabeth (Beth), so that's probably partly why I didn't get it.

3. Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?) Alida was my great-grandmother's name. She immigrated from Sweden at 16, and learned English by working as a maid in people's homes. Ruth is my mom's middle name. I don't know why she got it, but I know that I was named after her through it.

4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why? The names I really dislike are mostly because I have negative associations with them from someone I know or knew. Samantha is one. It's a pretty name, but I don't think I'd ever name my child that. I really like Bronwyn Leagh, Kieran Emma, Madison Cailiosa, Caleb Riley, Davin Micah, or Kennan Matthew. But you know, that's just off the top of my head.

5. Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com / triggur.org / astroexpert accurate? How or how isn't it? The Kabalarians analysis says, "Your first name of Alida has given you a friendly, likeable nature, and you could excel in artistic, dramatic, and musical expression. With this name, you desire the finer things in life, but you do not always have the resolve and vitality to put forth the effort necessary to fulfil your desires. Your emotional feelings are easily aroused and you will always be involved in other people's problems as a result of your overly sympathetic nature. You have many disappointments because of extending a helping hand to others in need, and then not receiving any acknowledgement or reciprocation for your generosity. After each experience, you have to guard against feelings of despondency and self-pity. You have high goals and ideals, but must incorporate more practicality, system, and concentration in order to materialize them."

It's actually pretty accurate, surprisingly. I don't put a lot of stock in this kind of thing, but it's fairly accurate. I'm definitely artistic/dramatic, but I don't get involved in other people's problems as much as this says. And when I do, I don't always expect something in return. Sometimes, but not as a general rule. The last sentence is fairly accurate--I have high goals, but I think I am putting in a concentrated amount of reality and practicality to make them happen. I have a system and a plan, and I'm not just basing it on dreams.

So yeah, that's my name. Fun times, hey? And now, I'm going to go attempt to re-join the party. Or at least help my roommates clean up. Yeah.

One year ago today: So. Yesterday. You know, it wasn't really any different from any other day. Honestly. It was just a day. There was an awareness of what it was, of course, but it wasn't penetrating every single decision and every thought of the day. I don't think it needed to.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:48 p.m.