about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Mar 11
... The longest six months of anyone's life
Six months since September 11. Of course it's been on the news and everything today... and it's interesting to think where my life has gone in the past six months. Many, many places that I never would have expected, but nowhere near the life changes that a lot of people have faced in them.

"September 11th" has become such a household date; the kind of date like "December 25th" or "February 14th"--you automatically know what it refers to. You don't have to say "Christmas Day" or "Valentine's Day." Everyone just knows. And to think that it used to be just someone's birthday; someone else's anniversary; someone else's "sad day" because of a memory... for every person, it had a different meaning attached. For some, it was just another day getting back into the routine of school and fall.

Anyways... there's a reference to it somewhere, somehow, every day. But how much has it really changed. For some people, everything. For me, not a whole lot. A bit, of course, but not my day to day life. Not who I see or don't see. Not who's here and who's not.

It's like any tragedy. When I stop to think about it, it kind of makes me feel a little guilty. Like I should be as affected and as consumed by it as some people are. Like I'm being selfish, petty, and juvenile to not think about it constantly. Like I shouldn't be able to live my life "normally" because for some people, "normal" will never be the same again. I know that's not the way it is; I know that's not expected of me, but sometimes, I feel so overwhelmed by it, and all I can do is feel helpless.

I had something witty and funny to write about thongs and underwear in our living room, but somehow it doesn't seem very appropriate right now. I'm not really in the mood anymore. Later. I'll try to remember to write about it later.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:14 p.m.