about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Apr. 26
... Stuck in second gear
I'm at the point in packing now where, even if I wanted to cook, there's nothing cook with or on. Hence, even though it was my day off, I headed to Quiznos to grab supper for Kat and myself.

I'm really having fun discovering this world of everywhere-on-a-weekday-afternoon, which is filled with mothers and preschoolers. Everywhere Kat and I go on our Tuesdays together, it seems to be that the largest crowds are moms with little kids. Makes sense. Especially Ikea and the zoo. They're just stroller-land, and I love it.

I've got almost everything that needs to be packed by Thursday, packed. I still need to do the kitchen, which won't take too long, and then a few more odds and ends, but most of the stuff that's going out to the farm is packed and ready to go. My room is looking very bare, and the house is still a disaster area, but it's getting there. Only a few more days! Once the Thursday stuff is packed, I can get started in on the rest of the stuff--everything that's going with me to the new house.

Sometimes I wonder why I even bother having half the stuff I own--it's ending up spending half the year in storage more often than not these days! Oh well. It's like rotating toys for kids--you put a few away for 6 months, and then when you take them out, they've kind of forgotten about them, and the toys seem completely new again. That's all I'm doing. I don't have anyone else to practice my parenting skills on, so I'm practicing on myself!

Sad day. You know you're in a sad place in life when...

Ah, who am I kidding? I've been practicing (and hopefully refining) my parenting skills ever since I started changing my sister's diaper on my grandma's good coffee table. By the time I have my own kids, I'll be an old pro!

Just ask Jakob, who discovered the joys of head-clapping at Ikea today. Or ask Kat, who will never let me near any of her future children. But she will let me be her Gilmore Girls buddy from now until forever.

And now, for a completely different change of pace...

::Domain Name Renewal...::

Onesome: Domain--Hypothetically, if you could own any domain name you wanted, what would it be and why? Fulfilled.com. Or something like that. It's become my main user name for a lot of what I use. But whatever... I'm okay with what I've got.

Twosome: Name-- Are you called by something other than your legal name? If not, have you ever had a nickname? Or done something weird with your name, to try and stand out? Like an odd spelling or a slightly different pronunciation? Or just flat out wanted to change your name? To what? My name is my name is my name. I've had many nicknames, but most of them have just been spin-offs of my real name. Nothing too out there. Unless you count Aloysius Algernon, which wasn't as much a nickname as it was a family joke. I have, however, always loved picking names for my future children (or characters in stories), and some of those have bordered on the strange. I think that when I was 12, I thought that Brytnae was a fantastic option. Uh, yeah.

Threesome: Renewal--Do you have any magazine or other subscription that is an absolute 'must renew' whenever you get the notice? I don't subscribe to a whole lot anymore, but the main one is my Theatre Alberta membership. Speaking of which, I think it's up for renewal. I should get on that, shouldn't I?


One year ago today: I've spent a few days in the past week as an extra on a movie that's being shot here... entertaining, because my hairdresser asked if I'd done any movies lately. She seems to have the idea in her head that I'm going to be a star, because I'm studying theatre. She's always asking how many shows I'm in, if I'm in movies, if I'm planning to make it big, and it's just too much work to explain what I really want to do with it. Anyways, this week, I could tell her that, yes, I was working as an extra. She was pretty impressed, even when I said that I was just on set for three days, and I have about 6 shots where I'm just in the background somewhere.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:03 p.m.