about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, May 16
... Neener neener... I did my Friday Five on Thursday!
Okay, okay, okay, so it's not technically Friday here yet, but somewhere in the world it is, and in that somewhere in the world, the Friday Five has already been posted. I'll probably forget to do it tomorrow, so today it is.

1. What shampoo do you use? St. Ives, one of the different scents. Right now it's raspberry and jojoba; my two favorites are the vanilla and the pear ones.

2. Do you use conditioner? What kind? I use it about every other day; if I always use it, my hair gets too greasy. And it's whatever kind matches my shampoo of choice at the moment.

3. When was the last time you got your hair cut? I'm trying to grow it out, so the last time I got a trim was right around Easter. The last time I actually got it cut drastically was last summer, just before I went to Ontario at the end of August. That was a dumb move--I'd been growing it out since spring, and on a whim, I went back to short and spiky. If I hadn't have done that, it would be a lot longer than it is now--it would be all one length, and just past my shoulders, probably. Grrr...

4. What styling products do you use? Just about nothing. When it was short, I used all kinds of gel, hair glue, pomade, etc. Now, I use some pomade when I want to do kind of a messy look, and I use hairspray when I actually do something fun to it, but other than that, it's au naturel for me.

5. What's your worst hair-related experience? Well, my grad hairdo was up there... it wasn' absolutely horrible, but it was poofier than I would have liked. The one that takes the cake, though, was when I shaved my head in grade 11 (for a Bald For Cancer fundraiser), and that day, was out in the sun briefly (only about 15 minutes without a hat), but it was still long enough for that rather sensitive skin to burn! A few days later, I ended up with horrible sunstroke-like symptoms, and within a few days, my scalp started to peel. Big chunks of skin would fall off, and they had little holes in them where the hair follicles were. It was pretty gross. But kind of funny, all at the same time.

And that's that for today. Or tomorrow, as the case may be!
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:07 p.m.