about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jul. 21
... -
And we thought Rimbey was bad. If there's anything I'm learning this week, it's that I'm most definitely not cut out to be a country chick. I mean, I appreciate the small town that I grew up in, but I spent enough time in the city to develop into a sane individual.

Seriously. Bashaw is in the middle of nowhere, and has nothing. There's isn't even a slurpee machine in town! Good grief. The library isn't open on Mondays, and it's only open a few hours a day the other days of the week.

We drove into Camrose today (a small-ish city---but a city nonetheless---about 1/2 hour away), just so that we could go to a library, a bank, a grocery store, and other such essentials.

Maybe I'm very metrocentric (is that a word? If it's not, it should be), but I just prefer life in a city. The bigger, the better. Yeah, I know all the arguments about community and small-town friendliness and all that, but it doesn't have to vanish in the city. That's why you get involved in a church or a school or something--that's where your community comes from. And there's just so much more to do than in such a small town.

I know that there are people who prefer the slower pace of the country, but I'm definitely not one of them. I'm not necessarily constantly rushed, but I do like having the option of getting a slurpee at 3:26 in the morning, without having to drive 30 min to get it.

Like I said, maybe I have a little bit of a superior attitude about it, but
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:51 p.m.