about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Mar. 29
... Soon you'll discover
I ache.

Last night, about an hour before I left work, I got really cold, and my skin started to hurt in that "there's a flu coming and you can't do anything to stop it" kind of way.

By the time I got home and in bed, I was shaking and sweating, and I spent the night thrashing. Not tossing and turning... no, that would be far too mild. This was downright thrashing and hence, not sleeping.

I ventured out of the house this afternoon (I had a meeting with Heather and James), but it's wearing me down quickly, and by the time I get home, it'll be time to curl up in bed again with a book or the TV or something similar.

Yuck. You know? That feeling when every touch hurts your skin--even sweat pants are too rough. A shower feels like needles. It was a toss up as to whether to wear glasses or contacts--contacts meant touching my face and putting things in my eyes, but at least I could wear sunglasses while I drive. Glasses won out, and now I have a killer headache to show for it.

And to top it all off, I'm cramping something fierce. As if the rest wasn't bad enough already.

Oh well. At least it was my day off. Count your blessings, right?

Anyways. I was going to write about seeing Phantom again last week with Kim, but I'm rapidly getting too drained for anything else. Later. I have thoughts, after seeing it for the second time.

One year ago today: From a theatrical perspective, though--that was the room where I was first onstage. For Sunday School pageants when I was a kid... that's where it all started. That's where I sang my first solo, where I had my first speaking parts, where I was first bitten by the acting bug. It seems fitting that I celebrate the completion of a degree in theatre in the same room where it all started. Not many people can say that, and it's definitely evidence of the roots I've got in this place--the impact it's had on me. I know it's just a building. It's just a room, and the showcase would have been as special in any other place, but the symbolism is nice. It's good. Roots are a good thing, as long as they don't become the be-all and end-all.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:50 p.m.