about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Mar. 28
... Trying too hard to put you from my mind
Wow. Easter's over, and with it, Lent. Which means that I stopped at Starbucks on the way to church yesterday morning and splurged on a most wonderful coffee. And I had a diet coke at lunch today.

For some reason, fasting this Lent was easier than it has sometimes been. Part of that may have had something to do with what I was fasting from, but I'd say that I have either coffee or pop about 4-5 days a week, so not having it was definitely a sacrifice.

I think that it had more to do with the fact that I was so immersed in Lent this year, and the fact that I was meditating so regularly on what it meant. Funny how doing it the way it's supposed to be done makes all the difference in the world, hey?

Christian Pub had a few Lent devotionals (one by C.S. Lewis and one by Henri Nouwen) for quite cheap ($0.99 each, I think) that I would have loved to pick up, but unfortunately, they were sold out when I got there. Ah well... maybe they'll have something next year. I can see how books like that would be incredibly popular, though.

Easter Sunday itself was busy--my last Sunday of teaching. Not only my last Sunday for this rotation, but this was my last rotation for this school year. It was a great month to go out on, but it's strange that I won't be teaching again until September. Ah well... it had to happen sometime, and I do need the break.

Then, it was out to the farm with a car full of people for the big "family" Easter dinner. Family in quotes because it was actually half family, half friends. I piled Kim, Trevor, Kat, and Jakob into my car, and we all drove the hour to the land flowing with milk and honey--or at least to the land flowing with home-cooked meals that weren't cooked by any of us.

Yep. We're all self-sufficient adults who have been living on our own for quite a few years now, but there's still nothing like having someone else take care of you every now and then.

Besides, a fancy dinner at my mom's looks nicer than a fancy dinner at my house. I don't have china, nice tablecloths, matching furniture, strategic decor... you know, all those things that make a house look way nicer than mine.

Although I do love my house--and we discovered that under our ugly living room carpet is a hardwood floor. Hoping the landlord will let us take up the carpet and enjoy the floor that was put there to be beautiful.

I went grocery shopping last week, and I made such a conscious effort to buy healthy food (snack-type food, especially) to have in the house, because it's so easy to get junk food everywhere else, and then Easter came, and now there's more chocolate than ever sitting everywhere, just begging me to eat it.

What's a girl to do?!
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:08 p.m.