about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wednesday, Jul. 27, 2005
... And if I wake up
Three comments and counting. I fully intended to post again last night, but it just didn't happen, so the utterly cryptic entry got left on the index overnight.

After today, I have no more split shifts this week. Excellent... They're not terrible, but they make for a rather long day. Tomorrow, I believe I actually have a free evening. And possibly a morning to sleep in, although I doubt that's going to actually happen. I think I'm going out for coffee with my mom. Friday, I'm going to see Village of Idiots at Rosebud with Scott and Heather. Saturday and Sunday, I work at the church. And that's my week.

I think that I laughed harder on Monday night than I have in a very long time. Between the flaming flow (thanks for that mental image), the archaeology in my own backyard, and the cherry buddies, Laurel, Kat, and I burned a lot of calories. It was priceless. You know, those things that only girls can laugh about.

That, plus watching Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants with Kat (and tearing up several times--although not outright crying), plus the conversation in the car afterwards equals a rather emotionally taxing day. Which lead to my very contemplative day yesterday. Several huge thoughts and conversations rattling around in my head, latching onto spare thoughts there, getting bigger and more alive with time. That's what yesterday was.

Today is one of those days when I wish I had a work schedule a little bit earlier. I think that I'm going to use my days off in the next 2 weeks and go to Olds one week, to see Laura and Ed, and then to Edmonton the other week, to see Lynsae and Lindsey before I leave. Both of them are trips that I can do on just one day off, so that's the plan. Details yet to be determined, but it's all good.

I've applied for my US passport, and it was actually a less arduous process than applying for my Canadian one. Fewer hoops to jump through, which surprised me. Especially as a dual citizen. I was expecting some sort of bureaucratic rigamarole, but there was nothing. Assuming, of course, that nothing happens between now and when I get it. Still, though, the whole process was relatively quick and painless, and I should have it well before I leave.

Anyways, I've got to get back to work. It's more just like a really long break than anything. Ah well... we've all got to pull them every now and then.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:01 p.m.