about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jun. 4
... 'Cause I don't want to be here lonely
This time of morning again. A little bit more bleary-eyed than yesterday morning, but still amazingly alert. Watching the morning news from NYC again. Sky's getting light again. The house still smells like paint fumes. I left the house at 2:00 a.m. again. I could get used to a routine like this one.

I'm going to need a huge furniture project to do soon. I wish I owned a house. I need something big--like a room--to paint/decorate. The dresser's finished; the coffee table is drying... all I have left are 9 picture frames to paint, and an end table to finish collaging (with Jones Soda labels). There are three days left this week, and if I keep going at the same rate as I've been going these past few days, I'll be finished by the end of the week. But then, I have 3 weeks left before I leave for vanning, and I need something to do until then.

We left for the trip a year ago today. Or tomorrow. Depending on how you classify "today." Anyways. I can't believe it's already been a year. At the beginning, it seemed like the six weeks stretched out for a lifetime, let alone the year after that.

But we're all a year older and wiser, and that month and a half that impacted our lives so much is in the past. It's weird. Looking back, though, I'm realizing how much I've changed, and how much the trip affected me.

One year ago today: It feels so unreal, I'm actually leaving! I mean, it almost doesn't feel like I'm going. My bank account's been emptied almost dry with all these silly travellers checks, I have six weeks worth of life packed into a suitcase and a backpack, and I've said goodbye to everyone, but it just doesn't seem real yet.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:37 a.m.