about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Jun. 3
... See all the black, all the white fade to grey
It's still dark outside, but the sky is starting to lighten. There's not enough light to see the source, but there's enough to hint at the promise of the morning. The birds are already singing, but the streets are still quiet.

I just came home from three hours at the 24/7 prayer room at The House. I don't have a job, so I can afford to stay out all night and then sleep half the day. It's been a long time since I've spent that much uninterrupted time in God's presence. The room was quiet--there were only 4 of us there--and that was a precious gift. I'll probably try to go back a few nights this week. The room is open until Sunday evening.

New York is 2 hours ahead of Calgary time, and I'm watching the morning news from New York. It's 6:30 a.m. there, and people are going to work. I'm sitting on my couch, not having gone to bed yet, watching the news from a city across the continent, realizing that there's "local news" no matter where you go.

This is my favorite time of day. The world is still sleeping, but I'm up--still. I don't like it when I have to get up this early, but there's something magic about watching the sky shift from black to morning.

I remember driving through Ontario all night last year, while we were on Testament. We'd had a performance in Winnipeg, and our next was in Sudbury, and the two were about 19 hours apart. We left Winnipeg right after performing, and drove all through the night. Dave took the middle-of-the-night shift, and Janel and I stayed awake with him while Sharla, Chelsea, and Jordan slept. Janel fell asleep, and Dave and I spent hours talking.

I remember watching for the sunrise, but it was quite a cloudy day, and there was no brilliant sunrise... the sky just kept getting lighter and lighter, until it was morning. It was magic. That drive, the conversation, and the sunrise is one of my favorite memories of the trip.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:23 a.m.