about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jun. 2
... You haven't lived until...
It must be a once-yearly thing--it was a year ago that I wrote my last entry about Seven Days, and I wrote one just yesterday.

I swear... I'm going to suffocate myself with these paint fumes. There's only one window on the main floor that I can open. Well, two. The screen door and the kitchen window. This varnish is a bit worse--it's an oil-base, but the paint and stuff was all water-based. Okay. You know you have no life when...

I've seen a lot of people talking about the latest Spark topic: Give me at least the top ten (feel free to do as many as you want) of your You haven't lived until you've... list.

1) Gotten up at 5:30 a.m. to go downtown with fresh muffins and a thermos of juice to claim a spot on the sidewalk for the Stampede parade.

2) Had a meal at Peter's Drive-In... The best burgers you can get, huge helpings of fries, and world-famous milkshakes.

3) Spent a day hanging out at the Stampede, gone on the midway rides, made fun of carneys, went to exhibits for all kinds of useless products, and eaten corn dogs and mini-donuts.

4) Stayed up all night, watching movies, eating popcorn, and talking with friends.

5) Taken off on a road trip, alone, on the spur of the moment.

6) Had something (besides ears) pierced.

7) Painted a piece of your own furniture.

8) Spent six weeks travelling around four countries in a mini-van with five other people and seven suitcases, performing in churches nearly every night.

9) Watched a movie with subtitles.

10) Been onstage in front of any size of a group of people, and known that your performance has impacted them in some way--you can tell by their reactions.

11) Watched a group that you directed perform onstage, and watching the audience be affected by them.

12) Eaten lutfisk (heh).

13) Slept on the floor of a coach bus.

14) Written a novel in 30 days.

I kind of stuck with the trivial things--the things that have been the uniquely fun adventures in my life. It's interesting to look at, though, because I'm only 21. I don't know what "living" really means yet. I mean, I know what's made my life fun and interesting, but I don't know what my answers to the same question would be ten years from now.

There are even things I can add now. There are so many things that have defined my life. Falling in love. Fighting for love. Losing that fight. Giving up. Travelling without your parents for the first time. Moving out. Being scared that someone you love is going to die. Seeing a miracle. Baked bread from scratch. Had an all-night movie marathon. Fought with your best friend.

I wonder what my "you haven't lived until..." list will be like when I die. What will the things that made my life worth living be?

One year ago today: With that group, that didn't happen, and the way Seven Days ended was so much different from the way it began, but it served a different purpose--and a good purpose. But with this missions team, I'm excited to build those bonds that will make us like a sort of family; that will always be there and not be broken. The kind of bonds where we can call each other and always know there's someone to pray, or someone to support us, to come to opening night of a show, to listen... whatever.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:43 p.m.