about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Jun. 2
... Not like I faint every time we touch
Kirsty always talked about "friend-crushes" in her diary... I'd link to it, but she's locked it. Anyways, she'd always talk about how she had a "crush" on a friend she wanted to get to know better.

I think I have friend crushes on my whole team. I'm excited to spend six weeks with them and be bonded to them in such a close way, and to get to know them better, in a different way than I have before. They're all such great people...

I was telling Kat today that it's almost like they're my "replacement Seven Days"... not that they could ever replace the group that we had, or the times that we shared, or that it's even the same kind of group at all, but I remember Matt talking about how he wanted Seven Days to be a place where we could build those close relationships where, 10 years down the road, we could phone each other and always have someone to pray for and be there for each other.

With that group, that didn't happen, and the way Seven Days ended was so much different from the way it began, but it served a different purpose--and a good purpose. But with this missions team, I'm excited to build those bonds that will make us like a sort of family; that will always be there and not be broken. The kind of bonds where we can call each other and always know there's someone to pray, or someone to support us, to come to opening night of a show, to listen... whatever.

Anyways, I'm excited for that. They're not at all going to replace my friendships with anyone else, but they're going to be a new, rich addition to my life. A different blessing, in addition to the blessings that I already have. I don't deserve any of them, but I'm so excited that I'm being given so much more than what I could ever deserve.

So yah. I have friend crushes on Sharla, Chelsea, Janel, Dave, and Jordan. Tee hee.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:31 a.m.