about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jul. 30
... Sing me a song
I'm going to be really sad when I finish working on my novel. I've already done a ton of editing this summer, and Laurel's help has been invaluable, and I've got more that needs to be done. I've got so many ideas, and I talk about the characters like they're real people. Laurel hears about them more often than she hears about real friends that I have. When I'm finished with it, and I move on to the next project, I'm going to feel like I'm leaving something behind.

I think I'm going to have to write a sequel. Maybe not this year, but maybe *gasp* not as part of Nano. Or maybe for Nano 2004, once I have time to let myself mature and the characters develop with me. We'll see. But I don't think I've experienced the last of them. I need to find out what happens. The book can stand alone--it doesn't need a sequel to be complete, but maybe...

The first novel that Madeleine L'Engle wrote was The Small Rain, which she wrote when she was in the 20's. The sequel, A Severed Wasp, was written at least 40 years later, and it's set at least 40 or 50 years after the first one. It uses flashbacks and so on to fill in what happened between the books, and the main character is in her 70's. She said that she couldn't have written the sequel until she had lived enough life to know what she was writing about... I don't even know if she ever intended to write a sequel. But she did. And the way it's written is really something special.

I'm not comparing myself to her by any means, but I wonder where my writing will go over the years. What will I do with it--will it become more than just a hobby? I don't see it being a career, but maybe it'll be a sideline thing.

In any case, I can't see myself ever not writing, whether that's journalling, or writing fiction, or what. I think it's too much a part of me.

Anyways. We're going to go shopping now, for some rather important necessities. Should be fun.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:48 p.m.