about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Apr 1
... No thought of the life you left behind
Does anyone remember the New York job that I applied for last summer? I didn't tell too many people about it, because I didn't want to get my hopes up (or have to explain to everyone why I wasn't going after all), but long story short...

I saw an ad for an au pair in an English magazine in Paris. I spent about 6 weeks emailing Alexandra, the woman in New York who was hiring, from little internet cafes all over Europe, and we discovered that I would be a pretty good fit.

The job seemed like a perfect opportunity--it was mostly before and after school and weekend care of one little boy, my days would be free, and I'd be paid in room and board. Plus, ever since I was in New York in '02, I've talked about wanting to go back, at least for a while.

In the end, the job went to someone else (I was the second choice), but Alexandra and I kept in touch, and have tossed the possibility of going at different times throughout the year, and I'm definitely still on her mind for next year, when she's ready to hire someone else.

Well...

We've been emailing back and forth a bit for the last few weeks, working out details for next year's position, and it looks like I may have a job!

Unless something drastic happens, and things change dramatically either in her life or mine, I'm moving to New York in September for a year. Almost a year. September to June.

I'll be looking into getting a second part-time day job, and possibly looking into taking a class or two while I'm there. I mean... New York! How much cooler than that does it get?

Who ever thought that a random little classified ad in a Parisian magazine would lead to this?!

I guess it just goes to show that timing is everything.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:15 a.m.