about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Mar. 31
... Purple, orange, and navy blue
Heh. I just can't go anywhere, can I?

Yesterday afternoon, after work, I stopped at the Superstore gas station (in the same strip mall area as both the store and the church), and, among other things, had the hood up to check my oil.

Today, during the lunch rush, Rob, the tech guy at the church, came into the store and asked if I got my car running yesterday. I replied that I didn't even know it wouldn't start.

Turns out, he was driving a vanload of spring break daycamp kids back to the church, saw me at the gas station with my hood up, and drove past again after he dropped off the kids, but by then I was gone.

Seriously! Everywhere I go, there's someone checking up on me... it's like I live in my own little version of the song.

Oh be careful little hands what you do... oh be careful little hands what you do... for the Father up above is...

And that's where the song gets interesting. If you're actually singing it with little kids, you sing, for the Father up above is looking down with love...

If you were part of my youth group, you'd sing, For the Father up above is waiting with a club...

Yeah, we massacred those children's Sunday School songs pretty badly. We had the most sacreligious versions of everything.

My favorite (besides, of course, the Friends/Fins and Pass It On shark songs (anyone remember Mexico '97?)) would still have to be Jesus loves the little children, all the children of the world... purple, orange, and navy blue... he loves them all except for you... Jesus loves the little children of the world...

Is it any wonder we turned out the way we did?

And the scary thing is that we are the current generation of Sunday School teachers and youth leaders in the church. What on earth (or in this case, would "what in heaven's name?!" be more appropriate?) were they thinking?! ;o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:54 p.m.