about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Nov. 6
... Reeking desperation
I've lived with Kat for too long. I used to have the world's hugest bladder. Now, I have to pee more often than I ever have in my life... and it can't be my fault! I'm not like this genetically! I think her bladder and mine have conferences and have decided to gang up on me and force me to spend more of my day in the bathroom.

So. About a week ago, we had an English Comp midterm, in which each of us had to write a 2-page, standard 5-paragraph essay on an effective Christian leader. We then had to exchange them with some other student, edit theirs, and then get our own back and rewrite/revise it based on the editing from the other person. Our mark was partly based on how well we edited, how well our essay was written, and how well we responded to our editor's comments (i.e. taking good advice; disregarding bad advice...).

The essay I ended up editing was written by a guy named Andy, a guy I know by sight and name, but we're not good friends--in fact, I'd never really talked to him before. He wrote a very good paper about his brother, using qualities from his brother's life as examples of qualities that effective Christian leaders have. It was very well-done, and he and his brother seemed to have a really unique relationship that made the paper that much more interesting.

Anyways, today I was on my way into the library at school, and Andy was on his way out. We said hi on our way by, and he thanked me for editing his paper. I said, "No problem; it was good. I enjoyed it." Then, to my great surprise and slight embarrassment, he said, "Maybe I should introduce you to my brother someday, hey?"

Do I reek desperation so much that someone I don't even know would joke about introducing me to his brother? I donno. It's pretty sad.

But it was really funny.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:29 p.m.