about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Nov. 7
... Fast pursuing lover come
Again, one of those days where I feel incredibly productive, yet I've done nothing to feel productive about! I think those kinds of days are evil devil spawn, because they seduce me into thinking that I can slack of for the evening, since I had such a "productive" day. Oh, wait. I'm slacking off this evening anyways--it's reading week, so I'm going to go visit Laura at camp for the night! Well, okay, it's reading weekend. After my rehearsal this afternoon, I don't have to be in class again until next Wednesday. I can handle that.

Hopefully it won't be a slacker weekend all around, though... I'm really hoping to get a fair bit of writing on my novel done. I want to try to get a bit ahead, so I have a bit of a cushion for when tech week comes. I was hoping my laptop would come today, but so far, no luck. Bleah. I wanted to take it to camp with me. Maybe it'll come tomorrow, and by the time I get home, I'll have it so I can use it for the rest of my long weekend.

It's interesting to see someone else's perception of you, especially after a first meeting. How do I come across? I mentioned to Kat that one of the Nano writers I went for fries with on Tuesday was quite talkative, and she asked, "More talkative than you?" Yeah, she was, and I said so. Kat's answer? "Wow... that's pretty talkative." The thing is, though, I'm not overly talkative in new situations. It's not that I'm shy, per se; it's more that I'm assessing the situation and observing the people and envorinment around me, rather than adding to the chaos and the kafuffle (isn't that a great word?!). I'm learning the value of silence, and the value of not having to be the one to talk all the time. Later on, watch out. I won't shut up. But I don't have to be the talkative one all the time.

Did I mention that I'm really looking forward to this weekend off?

And, I'm only about 1/2 day behind on my quota now! Woo! I should go--I want to hit 10,000 words before rehearsal so that I can keep gaining the lost ground.

One year ago today: I have so much in my heart to say, and so many amends to make, but it feels like such a daunting process. I used to be so much further "ahead" in this game called faith; I used to be at such a "higher" place than I am now, and the most frustrating thing is wanting to be back there, but not being able to go as fast as I want to. My "satisfy me now" tendencies want it to be an instant success; want to be back where I should be as fast and as easily as I fell. Unfortunately, that's not how it works.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:27 p.m.