about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Nov. 8
... Are you a hick?
Wow. The roads are terrible tonight! I can tell I haven't done nearly as much country driving in the past couple of years as I used to. I mean, I'm not a granny driver on bad roads or anything, but I'm definitely not as comfortable on the icy 2-lane highways through the middle of nowhere as I used to be. Or maybe it's just that I'm not nearly as comfortable on the icy 2-lane highways through the middle of nowhere that I don't know as I am on the ones that I drove several times a day for several years, in any and every type of weather.

It was really great to see Laura this weekend... although I guess the weekend is technically just starting now. Whatever. It was still good to see her. It was fun to hang out with Josh and Ed, too, but I missed Laura. You'd think I'd be used to her being gone by now... I guess I am. I mean, I don't really "actively" miss her when she's gone, because I still do see her pretty much every week, but I'm definitely glad to see her when she's back. I love hanging out with her. We have a weird friendship, though. It's really odd... but that's what makes it so special. I'd go into detail, but I really don't feel like it right now.

I got a lot of writing done today, though. I'm so close to being caught up on my quota, I can almost taste it! I'm at around 11,900 right now, and I'm going to get up to 12,600 before I go to bed tonight. Today's quota is 13, 336, so I'll only be about 700 words behind quota. Woo! That means I should be able to catch up by tomorrow, and then from there on, it's all about gaining some ground over the long weekend... I really want to get ahead of the game before Wednesday rolls around and I have to go back to class.

Anyways, I realize this is a pretty crappy entry... I'm tired for some reason, though. I don't know why--I got a lot of sleep last night, and it's been a pretty lazy day, but I'm still kind of exhausted. Oh well...

In any case, tired or not, I still have writing to do, and I have to work at 8:00 tomorrow morning, so I'm going to get going so it doesn't take me all night to get to bed!

One year ago today: One of my biggest pet peeves, and one thing that I know I've been guilty of at times, is when people try to... nullify, almost... their feelings after they get out of a relationship. Let me explain. They break up with a girlfriend/boyfriend, or things with a friend go bad, or whatever, and all of a sudden, it becomes, "Well, I didn't really feel that way about him. I didn't really love him, or mean everything that I said, or..." It becomes a form of protection, I think. And yes, sometimes you realize that you were just faking some of it. I know I did when Brian and I broke up. I didn't love him as much as I thought I did, or want to spend the rest of my life with him as much as the rest of the world thought. But I also know that I did love him, and that I can't say, all of a sudden, that I never did at all. Make sense?
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:57 p.m.