about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Aug. 21
... Counting on you to carry me through
One more dinner, one more sleep, one more day of VBS. But it's felt like Friday all day, so I'm feeling like I had one extra day here stuffed into my life. And then I go home. And I think I'm a lot closer to being ready for fall than I was yesterday. *breathes a sigh of relief* That's a good thing.

La de da. We're at the library later today than we've been for the rest of the week. Not necessarily a bad thing, because that means that we successfully killed a lot more of our afternoon, before starting our internet time at 4:00, instead of being finished well before then.

I can't believe it's already the end of August. I can't believe that 2003 is already 2/3 of the way over. How bizarre is that? It seems like Christmas is coming so fast, and yet, at the same time, it seems like there's still so much to do. I mean, I will have finished an entire semester by the time Christmas rolls around, and by then, I'll only have 4 months left as a full-time student. Now that's strange.

Every year seems to go faster and faster. If they're going this fast now, I can't imagine what it'll be like when I'm 80. When we were in high school, my friend David and I used to have a theory about that. When you're 5, a year seems like forever, because it's 1/5 of your life, and you can really only remember 2 or 3 of them. That's a pretty large fraction... but when you're 80, a year is only 1/80 of your life, which is (obviously) a much smaller percentage. Therefore, a year feels like longer when you're 5 than it does when your 15 or 37 or 83.

I don't know how accurate our theory was, but it seems to work for me! But yeah. It just seems to keep going faster and faster and faster, and I just don't know where the time goes. I thought that I had four months to get my life in order before school started again, and now, all of a sudden, it's 2 weeks before school starts, and I'm nowhere near as ready as I convinced myself at the end of April that I would be. Although I am getting there, and as the deadlines loom closer, I'm getting more organized. At least, that's what I tell myself.

One year ago today: When I was in New York this summer, I saw Beauty and the Beast on Broadway, and it just made my love of it even more pronounced. Honestly, I just about cried during the theme song, when they're dancing... both in the middle of the play, when he's still the Beast, and at the end, when he's the Prince. I'm not exactly sure why I was getting all choked up, but I think it had something to do with the fact that it's every little girl's dream. Most of us dream about having the perfect romance and having life turn out happily ever after. It doesn't always happen, but there's always that dream, and for me, it's been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember. I want the fairy tale to come true.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:13 p.m.