about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jun. 7
... Everything's made to be broken
Wow. It seems like there's always something to say, and never anything to write. The past couple of days have been lots of travelling (we're in Austria now), lots of waiting (in train stations and airports), and little sleep. Until last night--then we slept well, after no sleep the night before.

It's so gorgeous here... the landscape reminds me a lot of Banff. Mountains, trees, rivers... we went for a bit of a hike today, and �t reminded me so much of the hikes we used to take at summer camp when I was a kid. The weather is absolutely gorgeous today, too, and hopefully it'll stay that way for the next... oh, until July 19! I have to go home with a tan!

This marks the end of the planned section of the trip--tonight is our last night of free beds, food, laundry, internet, etc, since after this, we're onto hostels and not staying with friends anymore. I think we've decided to go to Milan next--one of the girls is going there to catch her next flight, and we were planning to hit Italy next; we just didn't know where. Now, the goal is to hit as many beaches as possible, mixed in with all the history and cluture! :o)

Tonight is it for the Flames. I can't believe it... it seems like it was just yesterday that the whole city was so excited that they were even making the playoffs, let alone making it to Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Finals! Seriously... that's what I miss most right now. I mean, yeah, I miss my friends, but this is such an incredible experience. The atmosphere in the city is just... electric. Charged. And I'm not there to be part of it! That's what I'm missing most right now.

And dinner's ready, so I should get going. Go Flames Go!!!!!!

One year ago today: So. Kitten has a name. Lucy. And she's definitely comfortable in the house--no more petrified-ness (petrification? terror?). She's not scared any more. She definitely thinks she owns the house and everything in it. And the whole house-training deal is going surprisingly well. And she thinks I'm her own personal jungle gym. infinite || abyss

posted at 6:45 p.m.