about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jun. 4
... Heaven right here by my side
Hmmm. It's weird. Right now, I find myself in a phase where I'm really appreciating sculpture more than I have in the past, and particulary, nude sculptures. Not in an erotic way, just... I dunno. But there's something about the human body that never ceases to amaze me.

The sculptures I saw yesterday... seeing Rodin's "The Kiss" at the Tate Modern... I don't know what it was, but there's something about them that struck me as incredibly beautiful.

Not just artistic, although that was definitely a part of it, but just... beautiful. Funny, because I spend so much time criticizing bodies--either my own, or other people's. Maybe not out loud, but there's always that element of comparison.

She's skinnier than I am; I've got a smaller waist than her; she's got a flatter stomach than mine; I've got wider feet than hers; she's got smaller boobs than I do; her figure is less defined than mine; hers is more toned; she's got nicer legs... you know the drill. We do it all the time. Constantly.

But somehow, seeing the human body in bronze or marble is easier to appreciate than seeing it in flesh and blood, walking around in front of me. And the thing is, these sculptures aren't perfect, either. They're not the proportions of a perfect woman--or man--but they're easier to see the beauty in.

I don't know why that is--why is it so much easier to appreciate the beauty of what God's made when it's not real? Why is it easier to appreciate an image of the real thing? Maybe it's less threatening. Maybe it's because it's not right there, impacting my reality--it's something that I can see objectively and react to subjectively.

But at the same time, if the art can impact me... that's what it's about. Whatever the means to get there; if it changes something for me, that's the important thing. That's why it exists--to show the world through someone else's eyes, and make a difference because of it.

Hmmm. I still want those sculptures, though.

One year ago today: But we're all a year older and wiser, and that month and a half that impacted our lives so much is in the past. It's weird. Looking back, though, I'm realizing how much I've changed, and how much the trip affected me.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:58 p.m.