about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Nov 28
... Blind date, our version
I'm a crazy nut! I wasn't really being serious about Kat arranging a marriage for me... but now she's setting up a blind date for me for the Christmas banquet! Gah! Apparently she has "ideas" about who I should go with, and I'm having less than no luck getting a date on my own, so she's going to step in. All I know is that it's not someone from the school, because he needs a ticket, and that I just have to get dressed up all pretty, and he's going to show up at our door on the 7th, and voila, there's my date. I'm assuming it'll be someone I know... I mean, she wouldn't set me up with a complete stranger... would she? No, I don't think so...

I was in the office reserving my seats, and I told Kim about my little predicament, and she said, "Oh hunny. I'm going to pray for your situation. Seriously. I'm not laughing! I'm going to pray for you." I'm not sure whether that should make me feel better or worse.

It's not that going on my own would be so bad, because it wouldn't. It's more that all of my friends will be there as part of a couple--if not as an actual "couple," they'll at least be there with a date--and that would be the most awkward "odd one out" situation I could possibly think of. Good grief... why does everyone have to make such a big deal of it? Last year, everything kind of fell into place, and it was lots of fun. This year, the details just don't seem to be fitting together. Although last year I didn't know until about 3 days beforehand whether my date would be able to make it or not, so I guess I have a knack for flying by the seat of my pants on this kind of stuff.

It should be a rather interesting evening, that's for sure. *sigh* The escapades I get myself into...
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:02 p.m.