about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Feb. 1
... Whatever a moon has always meant
Okay. Let's get a real entry here, for the first time in at least a week.

I'm not sure what the difference was between this BreakForth and re:vive, the last conference I went to, back in September. I came back from re:vive feeling rather cynical about the whole idea of the massive Christian conference, and yet, for some reason, I decided that it would be worth going to BreakForth. It turned out, for some reason, to be a completely different experience.

Maybe it's because this wasn't a "Youth conference," and it's more the idea of the youth conference than the conference itself that I'm outgrowing. Maybe it's because there were so many different electives that you could really customize it, so I got to choose from over 150 classes to find the ones that really made it "my" conference.

Huh. I don't really know; I just know that I got a lot out of it.

I took some really interesting electives, like a panel discussion on "The Holy Spirit as Muse" and a talk by Erica Grimm-Vance on "Beauty and Suffering," particularly as those concepts relate to art and to our relationship with God.

The main assemblies had some good speakers and worship leaders, and I didn't go to the concerts, but apparently they were good, too. I'm surprised at how many big names they had there--especially for a Canadian conference, that's pretty impressive.

But in any case, the important thing isn't that it was big names or whatever; it's that God was worshipped and glorified, and that people were able to hone their skills and learn new ways of worshipping.

Ummm... I actually had a really good weekend with my parents, too. There were about 30 of us from Foothills who went, but since the conference was so big (over 7000 people), and since everyone drove up separately and stayed in different hotels, we hardly saw each other all weekend (minus the one dinner at the Old Spaghetti Factory that we had prearranged to all be at). My parents and I stayed together, though, and spent a lot of the weekend together, which was actually a pretty good thing.

In any case, I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and it was worth the $80 or so that I spent for registration (since that's almost all I paid for...).

Anyways. Can you believe it's already February?! Insane! Think about it. We're already 1/12 of the way through 2005.

I kind of want to change my template to something Valentines-ish, but I'm not sure if that would depress me more than anything! :o) Yes, yes... it's every single woman's favorite time of year.

You know, I had great Valentine's Days when I was in high school, and my first year at Rocky, but since then, they've been pretty anticlimactic.

Anyways... I took Linus to the vet this morning, for his ear mites, so I should get him home, now that the (topical) medicine has dried, and Nemue won't help him lick it off or something crazy like that. I wouldn't expect her to, but you never know with those two.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:59 a.m.