about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Aug. 1
... Cheers, here's to...
You know it's been a slow night at work when you decide to see how many items you can run through the sanewich oven, and how they react.

Just a note. Potato chips start on fire. And chip fires stink.

But it's even more amusing when it's your assistant manager who's telling you to run the chips through the oven.

Gotta love long weekend Sunday nights. We (okay, not "we," but Blair and Becky) decided to close an hour early, because things were just that slow. Not a problem, right?

Well, except for the fact that today, of all days, my dad and I were sharing the car--he was finishing work at around 9:30, when I was supposed to be off, so we would just go home together. Keeping in mind, of course, the fact that, right now, "home" is at my parents' place, 45 minutes away from my work.

I finished at 8:30, and mentioned that I needed to hang out and wait until 9:30, so Blair offered to give me a ride home. Fine--I called my dad, left a message telling him that I had a ride, and I'd see him at home.

So, the ride home--more on that in a minute--and realized that my dad hadn't called back yet. Apparently his cell was dead, and he was trying to call from a payphone to confirm what was going on. Only problem was, he was calling the house's downstairs line, and I was upstairs, so he spent 10 minutes calling the house, and I spent 10 minutes running up and down the stairs, missing the phone each time. Finally, I caught it, and we figured everything out--namely, that I was already home and didn't need a ride.

Heh. It was just one of those gong show nights. But it was good.

Odd, in a way, but not as odd as it would have been before I left. We had a good conversation. All kinds of things. It's interesting, though--circumstances at work have conspired to make things different now than they were at the beginning. Just that, back then, Blair wouldn't have been the first person I would have hung out with, just because there were others who I was closer to.

How things change. Now, I burn potato chips in the oven. It's interesting how friendships evolve and develop. Unexpected. But cool.

Heh. I think we should try a different brand of chip through the oven. Maybe a Dorito wouldn't catch on fire as fast as a Miss Vickie's.

One year ago today: So. Janna and I found the most perfect little house ever. Ever. We just need to find two more people, and the landlord wants to get it rented asap. So, we need to find those 2 people in the next couple of days. We're praying hard, and calling everyone we know who may be looking for a place to live.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:48 p.m.