about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Jun. 17
... Move to the music
Yep, I'm still alive. After one-night stands in Rome, strange techies at the Vatican, and pushy vendors at the Colosseum, we escaped Italy and made our way to France. Nice, to be exact. It's calmer--there are fewer "big" sights here, so there's less of the feeling that we constantly have to be moving, and constantly seeing something new. This is more of the relaxation part. We've kind of planned the next week or so around a lot of beach time--something a bit relaxing before we get into the really heavy-duty touristy stuff when Mom and Dad and Carl get here. Plus, we need some time to work on those tans!

Nice is gorgeous, although the beaches are really rocky. That's okay--that's why we're so close to Cannes and Monaco. Wow. It's so weird to say, "Yeah, I spent yesterday on the beach in Cannes..." The beaches there are all great, though.

Wow. Just a week and a half left. Sort of. Then three more weeks, but those are totally like a separate trip. The feeling is just so different than this.

There was this really cool postcard in Cannes--from the 2004 Film Festival; it was black, and it said in silver letters, "Be An Artist." If they'd had it in a poster size, I totally would have gotten it, and as it was, I should have gotten the postcard, but I didn't, and by the time we went back to the store, it was closed. Ah well... live and learn.

Anyways, a Thursday Threesome, because I think it's Thursday. Not sure anymore, but that's what the computer says, so I'll go with that.

From the "School Daze" Division:

::School Bus Stop::

Onesome: School-- Since the school year seems to be over (your mileage may vary: some of you are already in summer sessions!): what was your favorite year in school? Yeah, the one you had the best time in or learned something special or had that learning breakthrough? In some ways, this year was. I put the most into it, and realy soaked up everything I could. In some ways, in certain classes, it was the most frustrating, but overall, it was definitely the best of my Rocky career, if not the best overall. My first year at Rocky was a special one, for sure, just because it was my first year, and living in dorms and stuff really was special, but I think that in terms of growth, this year was huge.

Twosome: Bus-- Hey, how did you get to school in the early years? Walk? Bike? Mommy van? Bus? ...and for those still attending, how are you getting to and fro these days? Mom drove in kindergarten, and then I took the bus after that, all the way through grade 12. I drove myself about half the time in grade 12, but officially, I took the big yellow limousine. Once I hit college, I either walked or drove myself.

Threesome: Stop-- ...and when did you stop going to school? ...or did you? Are you still at it? Any plans to go back for those who are out of the system? Well, I stopped this year, early May. At least, that's the idea, if they ever get all my credits and field ed stuff worked out! I just keep finding one complication after another, but one of these days, they'll tell me that I'm finished, and I'll get my degree in the mail, and only then will I really believe that it's finished! As for the future... I'm thinking about getting my Master's, but that won't be for another year, at least, and even that's not set in stone yet.

Anyways, there's a line, as usual, so I'm off. It's laundry day! It'll be nice to have some clean clothes...
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:23 a.m.