about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, July 19
... Change for the....
How much do I love being sick during daycamps? Not at all!! I want to be out there with the kids; instead, I'm spending my mornings with them, trying to keep up and not let myself puke all over, and then going home and sleeping for the afternoons. I'm missing the field trips, I don't get to bond with them, and I feel like crap. Yes, I'm indulging in a little bit of whining. Not a lot, just a little. Bleah. I wish they'd just get their act together and figure out what's wrong with me. It's not normal to be sick for 2 months straight. I just hope this attack ends by Saturday. I don't want to be sicker than I already am during SEMP.

It's so weird working with Marva again. I really miss Ellen a lot... They're very different people, and I preferred working with Ellen. I mean, they both love Jesus wholeheartedly, and they both want to share that with the kids, and that's the most important thing, but they have incredibly different personalities, and those show through in the way they relate to the kids, the teachers, the volunteers... everyone. And I'm sure some people prefer Marva's style of running things, but I miss Ellen. Not just as a boss, but as a friend, too. At least Helen will be back soon, which will be good. I can't have everyone quit on me! :o) Last time I worked with Marva, I was about 13, and obviously I was treated differently then than I am now. But it's almost like there's still a carry-over from when I was that young.

Oh well. This is only for now, and we'll see what happens in the fall. Change is hard, but not always bad.

That's the hardest thing to realize. Some of us were talking the other day about how Craig's been here a year, and in some ways, it's still hard to accept him. I've realized how much I appreciate him, though, since the play. No, he's not Norm, but if he was, he wouldn't be who God wants him to be, and he wouldn't be doing what God wants him to be doing. It's still hard, and I still miss Norm, but I think I'm seeing that Craig fits into the big picture of things in a way that Norm never could, because he's not Craig. Norm laid a huge foundation, and did so much for God here, and Craig's building on that. God's using him in ways that Norm wouldn't have been as effective to do things here, but he's building on Norm's base. And someday, when Craig leaves, whoever comes after him will build on the base that Craig built on the base that Norm built on the base that Matt built on the base that Les built on the base that Terry built, and so on all the way back down the line of youth pastors that have been here for years. It's a continual growth process, and even if I don't remember the names of all the youth pastors in the past 25 years, what they did is affecting the way the youth group is today, because everything has been building up. So, I'm learning to appreciate and love Craig for who he is, and not for what I miss in Norm's absence. It's a process, but I'm learning.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:41 p.m.