about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Aug. 10
... I promise you this
What a beautiful wedding. It really was a great day, and a lot of fun. Some weddings aren't that much fun to be a guest at, but I had a really great time today.

Wow. I can't believe our little Dave is married. Well, not so little. But still. Our little Dave is married.

So many stories about the day... lots of pictures taken... lots of laughter and a few happy tears.

Katie was a beautiful, beaming bride (aren't they all?), Dave cried when he saw her coming down the aisle, and we danced the Funky Chicken and the Hokey Pokey at the reception.

I fell down in front of the whole reception while trying to win a contest, Katie's bridesmaids were dressed in a brilliant summer-noonday-sky blue, and Andrew and Shawn sang a gorgeous duet during the ceremony.

Dave burst through the curtain onto the platform at the beginning of the ceremony, Phil and Brett sang "I Will Be Here," and we got a picture of all six of us from Testament.

Dave and Katie laughed a lot during the ceremony and their joy was so evident in everything they said, Sara told us how Shawn proposed to her and showed us her ring, and we had roast beef and mashed potatoes for supper.

I left the dance at 10:30, and things were still going strong. They had just put out trays of hors d'oeuvres for people to snack on, since we ate at around 6:30.

We went to the mall between the ceremony and reception, and it was almost like Testament all over, except that Jen was there instead of Dave. Last year, Vanilla Coke came out while were we were on tour, and today we found Vanilla Pepsi at Wal-Mart.

I got the "I want to be married" feeling today. I can't wait for my wedding day.

But I'm really tired right now, and Laurel and I need to leave early tomorrow morning. I should get some sleep.

One year ago today: It's funny how some things never change. The more things change, the more they stay the same, and all that jazz. You know. The force of it surprised me, though. I thought I was prepared, but nothing could have completely prepared me for that experience. I really don't know what else to say about it. I could go into all kinds of detail, but I don't even know that I understand all those details, so how can I explain them?
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:12 a.m.