about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Aug. 11
... Potluck dinners no more
Oh goodness. I think I say that in every new small town we get to, but I'm serious--they keep getting progressively worse! Right now we're in Red Deer, checking email at the library. Fortunately, we're only about 1/2 hour away, so I have a feeling we'll be here a lot this week. The town we're in this week is seriously only 20 min away from the church and reception hall where Dave and Katie had their wedding on Saturday. I should have just rented a hotel room in town, instead of driving back on Saturday night. Oh well... I wasn't bringing my car anyways, so it makes it just as much driving, and it would have been kind of a hassle to find a place to put the car.

Heh. I'm such a dork. I walked down the middle of the street this morning carrying a pot of hot, melted wax. Because the church doesn't have a stove. Or a fridge. So we had to melt the wax at our billet's house, and we're not sure what we're going to do for lunches.

What kind of church doesn't have a fridge and stove? Hasn't that been integral to the structural design of a church since time began? How else are you supposed to do potluck dinners? And everyone knows that a church would fall apart without potlucks. How else do the single men in the congregation get fed?

Okay. I think it's time to go, because our parking time is almost up. Yeah. I've got a lot to do, and not nearly enough time left in the summer. Sad, sad day for me.

But I did get paint chips at Wal-Mart yesterday, so I'm starting to figure out what I want, since Janna left me with the job of picking paint colors. What do you think for a living room--a light yellow, or a light green? Or something else? But we want it to be kinda light, and open looking. The TV room downstairs will be the one that's darker and cozier.

Okay, I'm really going now. But sign the book and let me know what you think!
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:37 p.m.