about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Aug. 12
... Before they even start
As much as I vehemently dislike this town, I do like our kids. We only have 4 this week, and they're really great. It's a really interesting group dynamic--we have a 13-year-old boy, and 10-, 7-, and 6-year-old girls. Normally, 13-year-old boys aren't that enthusiastic about VBS, and are sometimes troublemakers, but Alex is a really good kid. He looks out for the little girls, and he makes sure they're included in the games and stuff; he's got a really fun sense of humor, and he's a good sport when Laurel and I tease him. If only he were 10 years older... But then he probably wouldn't be so cool. Isn't that always the way it goes?

I'm still all "awwwww" about Dave and Katie's wedding. I'll get my pictures back on Thursday, and I'm super excited about that. It's weird that, out of 4 of us in the theatre program who have gotten engaged in the 3 years we've been there, he's the first one to come back married. I ended up breaking it off, Leah changed majors (and still isn't married), and Shannon got married but then didn't come back to Rocky.

I've got a stack of paint chips that's 3 inches high, and Laurel thinks I'm crazy. And, we're going to go to Canadian Tire today, so I'll probably get more. Sad day. Hopefully I'll find a color scheme I like soon! I'm far too picky for my own good!

One year ago today: Will it ever be completely healed? To an extent, I think yes. I think that there comes a point where things are the way they're going to be. Everything's been "dealt with" as much as it can. It's not perfect healing, though, because there are always those moments and reminders, and it'll never be a perfect healing until heaven. Until then... the scars are always there, and they become part of what shapes us and makes us who we are, and that's something that can never be erased, nor would I ever want it to be. Eventually, though, there comes a point when it's not day-to-day, and if it remains that way, that's completely unhealthy. It's always there, though. That little knowledge in the back of your mind; that tiny little spark of memory; the innocent triggers that bring up some emotion long-forgotten and buried.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:34 p.m.