about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Aug. 13
... The minor slide, the major lift
I realized something yesterday, for the first time. Laurel and I are getting paid to hang out all summer. As much as I have always joked about paying off my friends, this time, it's actually real. Heh. Scary thought!

So yesterday, we both got our ears pierced. Again. We've both been tossing around the idea of getting another hole, and we were in a Claire's in the mall in Red Deer, looking at the piercing studs and the different prices.

An employee came up and said that if we were brave, and would let her pierce us, we would get a 20% discount, because we would be her first human ears. She's had lots of training and all that stuff, so it wouldn't be like she didn't know what she was doing, and her manager would be supervising, so we decided to do it!

Yeah, we're both addicts. That's a total of 8 holes each in various body parts. I'm glad we were her first, though, and we've both done it often enough to not be scared of pieces of jewellry poking holes in our skin. It was fun. She was really good, too. She'll be a good piercer. Totally didn't show it at all if she was nervous or anything like that.

I can't believe we only have 7 more days of VBS left before the end of the summer, total. That's not many. It's gone by really, really fast... and it's almost time for the rest of the year to start. It feels like it's been forever since I was in school, but at the same time, I'm ready to get going and get into year 4. Wow. That's so strange. My fourth year of post-secondary education. I know I say this every time I think about it, but it's a really overwhelming thought. I just can't quite wrap my mind around it.

Anyways, I'm going to go enjoy my cute new hole in my head. It's really fun. For real. :o) And find a monologue for auditions in September. What a keener--finding homework now. But it's got to be ready, and I know what I'm looking for, so why not? It's no surprise.

One year ago today: It's weird. But I guess it makes sense. I've never put much stock in my looks; I've never found security in them. I know I'm not ugly, but I know I'm not drop-dead gorgeous, either. I've just gotten comfortable with them. I've found my security and a lot of my identity in my intellect, though. I've been known as the "smart one" and the one who can think logically through any situation. I'm the one who's got a good head on her shoulders and who can figure out a lot of things. When something compromises that, that's when I feel weak.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:46 p.m.